Master of Teaching (Secondary Education)

Inherent requirements for programs in secondary education

To assist students to make informed choices about their study, the Sydney School of Education and Social Work has identified inherent requirements for coursework-award courses in Primary and Secondary Education. In order to successfully complete such a course, students must possess the qualities and skills listed in the document below.

Applicants for the Master of Teaching (Secondary) must hold a bachelor's degree that satisfies the requirements of the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA). Details of the prerequisites for secondary teaching – as well as those of other Master of Teaching designations offered by the school – are published under the separate MTeach prerequisites heading.

Course overview

Candidates for the MTeach (Secondary) are required to undertake study in one or two teaching areas, depending on the subject(s) they intend to teach. Candidates intending to teach languages, mathematics or science are permitted to study these as "double method" areas, which means they do not need to undertake a second teaching area. All available teaching areas, including the three that have double-method options, are also offered as "single method" areas.

Where applicants choose to study two "single method" teaching areas, their undergraduate studies in at least one of these must meet the NESA Teaching & Educational Standards NSW prerequisites as a core teaching specialisation (First Teaching Area). The second of the two "single method" teaching areas may then be undertaken as a lesser specialisation (Second Teaching Area), which need only to have been studied as a 'minor' in the candidate's undergraduate degree. Some areas such as 'Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages' and 'Classical Hebrew and Judaism' can only be studied as a Second Teaching Area.

Applicants for the MTeach (Secondary) must satisfy the subject prerequisite requirements for either one double-method teaching area or two single-method teaching areas.

Secondary teaching areas

The following table lists the secondary school teaching areas that are usually offered in the MTeach (subject to quotas and demand). A brief description of the course content is included – Stage 4 refers to Years 7-8; Stage 5, Years 9-10; and Stage 6, Years 11-12 (HSC).

Teaching area
Course content

Aboriginal Studies

Aboriginal Studies Stages 4, 5 and 6 syllabuses, Culturally Appropriate Research Practices and pedagogy.

Business Studies

Commerce Stages 4 and 5 and Business Studies Stage 6 syllabuses and pedagogy.

Classical Hebrew and Judaism

Classical Hebrew pedagogy to Stage 5, within the Judaic Studies context. Classical Hebrew Stage 6 and pedagogy.


Drama Stages 4, 5 and 6 syllabuses and pedagogy.


Commerce Stages 4 and 5 and Economics Stage 6 syllabuses and pedagogy.


English Stages 4, 5 and 6 syllabuses and pedagogy.


Geography Stages 4, 5 and 6 syllabuses and pedagogy.


History Stages 4 and 5 and Modern History and/or Ancient History Stage 6 syllabuses and pedagogy.


Not all languages are catered for. The specific languages offered in any one year will be subject to quota, depending on demand and the availability of practicum placements for the professional experiences component of the course. The languages that are more likely to be offered are:

  • Arabic
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Greek (Modern)
  • Hebrew (Modern)
  • Indonesian
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Legal Studies

Commerce Stages 4 and 5 and Legal Studies Stage 6 syllabuses and pedagogy.


Mathematics Stage 4, 5 and 6 syllabuses and pedagogy.


A range of subjects and disciplines from the Science Key Learning Area syllabuses and pedagogy, including the compulsory subject Science (for Stages 4 and 5). Candidates are also required to specialise in one or more of the Science Stage 6 subjects:

  • biology
  • chemistry
  • earth and environmental science (EES)
  • physics

Society and Culture

Geography Stages 4 and 5 and Society and Culture Stage 6 syllabuses and pedagogy.

Teaching English to Speakers of
 Other Languages (TESOL)

Candidates wishing to study TESOL as a teaching area must also qualify in another teaching area: the main area in which they will be teaching. TESOL course content includes the study of Stage 6 English as a Second Language, as well as the role of ESL teachers in helping students improve their English, literacy and learning in all subjects.