Past winners

The Faculty of Education and Social Work has a continuing tradition of fostering creative teaching among its academic staff and has produced numerous winners of national, state and University honours for excellence in higher-education teaching.

As well, the faculty recognises outstanding achievements in teaching each year by presenting Teaching Excellence Awards to staff.

A list of past winners across all levels of representation appears on this page.

National – Carrick Awards for University Teaching

State – NSW Education Minister and ACE (NSW)

University – Vice-Chancellor's University Awards

College – Humanities and Social Sciences

Associate Professor Janette Bobis – Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning 2007

Associate Professor Michael Anderson – Quality Teaching Award 2003

Professor Robyn Ewing – University Award for Excellence in Higher Degree Research Supervision 2007

Associate Professor Donna O'Connor – Outstanding Teaching Award 2005

Associate Professor Donna O'Connor – Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning 2007

Professor Robyn Ewing – Quality Teaching Award 2002

Associate Professor Donna O'Connor – University Award for Outstanding Teaching 2006

Professor Brian Paltridge – Excellence in Research Higher Degree Supervision 2005

Dr Lesley Scanlon – Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning 2006

Christine Preston – Quality Teaching Award 2001


Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards

2015 winners

Dr Paul Ginns

Eulalia Verde




2014 winners

Alicia Olsen

Dr Victoria Rawlings

Dr Kate Russell

Dr Jen Scott Curwood


2013 winners

Alicia Olsen

Dr Victoria Rawlings

Dr Kate Russell

Dr Jen Scott Curwood


2012 winners

Cathie Burgess

Dr Victoria Campbell

Dr Paddy Cavanagh

Renata Cinelli

Dr Susan Colmar

Dr John Evans

Sharon Galleguillos

John Hobson

Denise Lynch

Dr Heather McMaster

Dr Susan Poetsch

Lyn Riley

Katrina Thorpe

Dr Lorraine Towers

Dr Rachel Wilson

2011 winners

Dr Ruth Fielding

Kate (Catherine) Keeley

Lea Mai

Dr Louisa Peralta


2010 winners

Associate Professor
Alyson Simpson

Dr Kellie Burns

Janet Dutton

Dr John Evans

Vilma Galstaun

Joshua Barnes

Cathy Little

Dr Lina Markauskaite

Dr Ilektra Spandagou


2009 winners

Dr Jon Callow

Dr Paul Dufficy

Dr Marianne Hulbosch

Dr Lesley Laing

Karen Lambert

Dr Aek Phakiti

Catherine Smyth

Dr Marie Stevenson

Nicole Brunker

Associate Professor
Janette Bobis

2008 winners

Associate Professor
Lesley Harbon

Associate Professor
Deb Hayes

Associate Professor
Armstrong Osborne

Theodora Lafkas

Dr Kelly Freebody

Dr Kate Russell





2007 winners

Associate Professor
Michael Anderson

Associate Professor
Jude Irwin

Elaine Fishwick

Dr Robyn Gibson

Dr John Hughes

Dr Susan Colmar

Dr Richard Light

Sandra Nicholson

Christine Preston

Dr Jenni Way

2005 winners

Associate Professor
Jennifer O'Dea

Dr Paul Dufficy

Sandra Newell

Dr Ruth Phillips

Dr Alyson Simpson

Dr Lindy Woodrow





2004 winners

Associate Professor
Donna O'Connor

Associate Professor
Judy Anderson

Dr Lesley Laing

Dr Louise Sutherland

Dr Margot Rawsthorne

Dr Nigel Bagnall

Professor Robyn Ewing

Dr Alyson Simpson

Agi O'Hara

Karen Lambert