Postgraduate scholarships

Faculty-based postgraduate scholarships

Each year, the faculty invites applications from people enrolling in postgraduate study or research, who may be eligible for any of a number of scholarships, fellowships and awards made possible under several bequests and trusts. These are available for international students as well as students undertaking:


Applicants will need to carefully read the eligibility, terms and conditions of each of the scholarships, fellowships and awards, as they vary.

Applicants are required to nominate academic referees and to ensure that referees, on a confidential basis, forward their reports direct to the Scholarships Prizes and Development Officer in the faculty before the closing date.

After the faculty confirms that eligibility criteria and award conditions have been met, applications will be considered on the basis of: academic merit; giving particular attention to the academic record and standing of applicants; the academic merit of the proposed research and other activities. Applicants must provide sufficient information to enable assessment of overall academic merit.

Applications have closed for scholarships that take effect in 2016.

Rhodes Scholarship

This is a postgraduate award supporting exceptional students from around the world to study at the University of Oxford. Established in the will of Cecil Rhodes, the scholarship program is the oldest and perhaps the most prestigious in the world. Its aim is to nurture public-spirited leaders for the future.

Applicants must be Australian citizens who have been resident in Australia for at least five of the past 10 years and who will not have reached their 26th birthday by October 1, 2016. Enquiries should be directed to the honorary secretary of the NSW selection committee, Professor Tyrone Carlin, on the email link provided below. Selection criteria are:

  • an outstanding academic record leading to a first-class honours degree (or equivalent) at – or before – the end of the current calendar year

  • a record of community service

  • proven leadership abilities

  • enthusiastic sports participation.

Applications have closed for scholarships that take effect in 2016.