NSW Community Languages Program

CERTIFICATE IN LANGUAGE TEACHING

ENROLMENTS HAVE CLOSED

The Certificate in Language Teaching is a 60-hour professional development program for community languages teachers. The course is FREE and is funded by the NSW Department of Education and Communities' Community Languages Schools Program, it is designed to help participants to be more effective teachers by providing fresh ideas, renewing enthusiasm and increasing confidence.

The program offers:

  • new ideas for how to teach reading and writing

  • ways to interest and motivate students

  • techniques for classroom management

  • how to teach mixed abilities

  • the use of games, songs and activities.

Places are limited in each class and are not guaranteed until we confirm your place with you. We will try to give you your first or second preference. You must provide an email address, and we will confirm your place with you within seven days of your application to enrol. If you have questions, email Associate Professor , or phone 9351 6313.

Registration has closed because of the high numbers of enrolments. If you want your name to be on the waiting list for 2013 please email .


Key features

  • lesson observations – time in a day school 'shadowing' teachers and observing lessons

  • additional language-specific sessions, for example, Chinese, Korean, Arabic or Vietnamese

  • progressive assessments from short reports and case studies to the production of teaching activities and lesson plans.


Program information

Strathfield

Strathfield Girls' High School, Albert Rd – this course will run on five Monday nights from 5–8pm and six Sundays from 9am–4pm. The first session is on Sunday, May 20, 2012. Subsequent dates are May 21 (Monday), June 3 (Sunday), June 4 (Monday), June 17 (Sunday), June 18 (Monday), July 22 (Sunday), July 23 (Monday), August 5 (Sunday; 9–noon only), August 6 (Monday) and August 12 (Sunday).

Bankstown

Bankstown Senior College, cnr Eldridge and Antwerp streets – this course will run on 11 Thursday nights from 5–8pm. The first session is on Thursday, May 24, 2012. Subsequent dates are May 31, June 7, June 14, June 21, June 28, July 19, July 26, August 2, August 9, August 16, August 23, August 30, September 7, September 14 and September 21.

Parramatta

Arthur Phillip High School, Macquarie St – this course will run on 11 Thursday nights from 5–8pm and six Tuesday nights from 5–8pm. The first session is on Thursday, May 24, 2012. Subsequent dates are May 31 (Thursday), June 5 (Tuesday), June 7 (Thursday), June 14 (Thursday), June 21 (Thursday), June 26 (Tuesday), June 28 (Thursday), July 17 (Tuesday), July 19 (Thursday), July 24 (Tuesday), July 26 (Thursday), July 31 (Tuesday), August 2 (Thursday), August 7 (Tuesday), August 9 (Thursday) and August 16 (Thursday).

Sydney City

Cleveland Street IEC High School, Chalmers St, Surry Hills – this course will run on nine Sundays from 9am–4pm, commencing on Sunday, May 20, 2012. Subsequent dates are May 27, June 3, June 10, June 17, June 24, July 22, July 29 and August 5 (this final session is 9am–noon only).

North Sydney

This course will has been cancelled due to insufficient numbers. Please choose another venue.

Other delivery methods

Intensive mode

Strathfield Girls' High School, Albert Rd – this course is an intensive course running in the July school holidays for nine days from 9am–4pm (July 2–12). The final session is 9am–noon only.

Distance online

This course is only for teachers who live outside the Sydney region. It will run online over 13 weeks. The course starts on Monday, May 21, 2012. On Sunday, May 20, you will need to attend an introductory workshop in person at the University.


Academic coordinator

Associate Professor Ken Cruickshank
T: 9351 6313
E: