Master of Social Work (Qualifying) Timetable

The information below provides an overview of classes in the Master of Social Work (Qualifying) and should be used as a guide only. Enrolled students should download a personal timetable from the MyUni website for the latest information.


Personal timetables

All students receive a personal timetable for the units of study in which they are enrolled each semester. In order to be allocated to seminar and tutorial groups, enrolled students must download a personal timetable from the MyUni website each semester. Semester One timetables are generally available from mid-February; Semester Two timetables are available from Week 1 of the Semester One examination period.

Years 1 and 2

Unit of study Day Time
Semester One

Practice Learning 2A (SCWK5005) *

Monday, March 13 (preplacement seminar)
Monday, April 10
Monday, May 8
Monday, June 5
Monday, July 3

9am–noon
9am–noon
9am–noon
9am–noon
9am–noon

Social Work Practice (SCWK5010) 

Thursdays

9am–noon

Poverty and Social Exclusion (SCWK5009)

Fridays

1–4pm

Child Wellbeing and Child Protection (SCWK5008)

Thursdays
or
Fridays

1–4pm
or
9am–noon

Social Research (SCWK6902)

Mondays

5–7pm

Working with Communities (SCWK6910)

Mondays

5–7pm

Semester Two

Practice Learning 1 (SCWK5004) 

Monday, August 7 (preplacement seminar)
Monday, August 21
Monday, September 4
Monday, September 18
Monday, October 9

9am–2pm
9am–noon
9am–noon
9am–noon
9am–noon

Practice Learning 2B (SCWK5006) *

Monday, August 7
and
Monday, September 25

9am–noon
and
9am–noon

Social Perspectives on Ageing (SCWK5007) 

Mondays
Tuesdays

9–11am
Noon–2pm

Integration of Learning [capstone unit] (SCWK5003) §

Friday, September 8
Friday, October 13
Friday, November 3

2–5pm
2–5pm
2–5pm

Global Social Policy (SCWK6949)

Tuesdays

5–7pm

Practice Theory Development (SCWK6943)

Wednesdays

5–7pm

Social Research (SCWK6902)

Thursdays

5–7pm

* Students who enrol in Practice Learning 2A (SCWK5005) must also enrol in Practice Learning 2B (SCWK5006).
Social Work Practice (SCWK5010) is a required unit of study for first year MSW(Q) students.
Students cannot enrol simultaneously in both Practice Learning 1 (SCWK5004) and Social Perspectives on Ageing (SCWK5007) because these units have a timetable clash.
§ Integration of Learning (SCWK5003) is only for students on their final semester in the MSW(Q) program. Students need to email Liz Gibson to enrol in this unit of study.