Our People

Team Leaders

Professor Andrew Harris Associate Professor Andrew Minett
Professor Andrew Harris
T +61 2 9351 2926
Associate Professor Andrew Minett
T+61 2 9114 1446

Research Team

Agus Husin - PhD Candidate
Dispersion of nitrogen-doped carbon nanotubes in organic solvents

Omar Al-Khayat - PhD Candidate
Biomimetic Carbon Dioxide to fuel conversion
Omar joined us in 2012 following the completion of his undergraduate studies in Mechanical Engineering and Commerce at the University of Auckland, New Zealand. He is developing a process for the conversion of CO2 into a useful fuel product under mild conditions by mimicking the light independent cycles in plants.

Mobin Arab - PhD Candidate
Large-scale sorbent-based carbon capture
Mobin Joined SusTech lab in 2012 with a background in chemical engineering. He spent about 4 years working in climate change industry as an expert in energy industry after he successfully finished his master's course in Energy Systems Engineering at Sharif University of Technology, Iran. His PhD work in SusTech lab has a focus on large-scale sorbent base carbon capture technology (including calcium looping). Mobin also has collaborations with Laboratory for Multiscale Systems working on developing methods for working fluid design and optimization, which is based on computer simulations and numerical methods.

Shaikh Nayeem Faisal - PhD Candidate
Graphene-based biosensors
I am Shaikh Nayeem Faisal, graduated in Applied Chemistry & Chemical Engineering from University of Dhaka, Bangladesh. I have completed my Masters from Kyungpook National University, South Korea where I had worked on micro interfacial electrochemistry for developing enzymatic biosensors. Here I am interested on developing Graphene based biosensing & immunosensing devices as well as solid state DNA genome sequencer utilising nano-pore graphene. Beside research, I like traveling, passing time on beaches as well as playing beach sports.

Nikan Noorbehesht - PhD Candidate
Carbon Nanostructures for Energy Storage
He joined the Laboratory for Sustainable Technology in early 2012 after achieving M.Sc. first class honours in Chemical Engineering from Amirkabir University of Technology (Tehran Polytechnic). He graduated from IAU, Science and Research, Tehran with B.E.(Chem) Hons1. He have been awarded as a top undergraduate and postgraduate student from Iranian Association of Chemical Engineering due to his high academic records. He is funded by CSIRO- Future Manufacturing Flagship. His research interest relates to synthesis of novel carbon nanostructure materials consist of graphene sheets, with application in energy storage devices.

Ehsan Pourazadi - PhD Candidate
Carbon nanotube and graphene oxide inks for electronic devices
Ehsan has joined our laboratory in the mid-2012 after his completion in M.Sc. from Shiraz University, Shiraz, Iran. He is working on "Performing carbon nanotube and graphene oxide inks to make high functional electronic devices, using printing technology". He has been awarded the University of Sydney International Scholarship.

Anup Kumar Roy - PhD Candidate
Synthesis, Characterisation and application of 2D layered materials. (IPRS sourced)
Supervisor: Professor Andrew Harris and Associate Professor Andrew Minett
Education: 2013-Present, PhD Candidate at the University of Sydney.
2012 : Master of Science (M.S) in Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, Yuan Ze University, Taiwan.
2009, B.Sc (Engineering) in Chemical Engineering and Polymer Science, Shahjalal University of Science & Technology, Bangladesh.

Peter Newman - PhD candidate (AMME)
Using carbon nanostructures to modify cell behaviours in tissue engineering

Postdoctural Research

Dr Weimin Zhang
Nanostructured materials for energy conversion and storage
Weimin completed his PhD in the field of fuel cells catalysis at the University of Wollongong, Australia. After one and a half years' postdoctoral research at the same University, Weimin moved onto an Associate Research Fellow position in the Laboratory of Sustainable Technology at the University of Sydney in October 2011. Weimin's main interest and research has focused on design and fabrication of nanostructured materials for energy conversion and storage.

Recent Submissions

Nikki Amos - PhD Candidate
Renewable energy from biomass

Recent Alumni


  • Dr Md Enamul Haque
    Metal-Organic Frameworks and Derivative Materials
  • Dr Mohammad Mizanur Rahman
    Aqueous-phase reforming of biomass for hydrogen production
  • Dr Jie Zhao
    The application of functionalized nano-carbon materials as bio-interfaces in early diagnosis support
  • Dr Alice King
    Development of carbon nanotube scaffolds
  • Dr Adrianus Leonardy
    Carbon Nanotubes Hybrid Photocatalyst
  • Dr Meherzad Variava
    Synthesis of carbon nanotubes


  • Dr Rowam John Braham
    Currently at Liang O'Rourke Engineering Excellence Group, Sydney
  • Dr Anja Coenen
    Synthesis of porous nanostructures with biotemplates
  • Dr Asanka Imali Rahubadda Kankanamge
  • Mr Anthony Charles Ebert -MPhil (Chemical Engineering)
    Carbon nanotube incorporated supercapacitors
  • Ms Audra Indrayani Lukman -MPhil (Chemical Engineering)
    Extracellular phytosynthesis of precious metal nanoparticles


  • Dr Meilina Widyawati
  • Dr Xiashuang (Henry) Yang
    Development of smart membranes for hydrogen separation
  • Dr Monica Jana Hanus
    Currently at Liang O'Rourke Engineering Excellence Group, Sydney


  • Dr Keiran James MacKenzie
    Currently at Liang O'Rourke Engineering Excellence Group, Sydney
  • Dr Oscar Micheal Dunens
    Currently in Germany
  • Mr Weibin Liang -MPhil (Chemical Engineering)
    Currently in the School of Chemistry, University of Sydney
  • Mohammadreza Ebrahimi -MPhil (Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering)


Ms Pola Miralles - MPhil (Chemical Engineering - 2011)
Currently at Geociclos, Viña del Mar, Chile.

Dr Stuart Thickett - Postdoctural Research
Currently at the University of New South Wales, Sydney

Rosalia Widyaningrum - MPhil (Chemical Engineering - 2011)
Currently at World Vision Indonesia

Dr Lixiang Yuan - Postdocural Research

Dr Ming (Simon) Zhao - Postdoctural Research
Currently at Leeds University, UK