Council Members 2015-2017

Office Bearers


Mr George Maltabarow, former Managing Director Ausgrid.

Deputy President

Mr Peter Tyree, A W Tyree Foundation


Mr John Gaskell, former Managing Director, ABB Australia


Professor Archie Johnston, University Officer (Foundations)

Ms Melissa Bonevksa, Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor Nominee 


  • Russell Ash 
  • Trevor Ashton, Independent Non Executive Director
  • Prof Abbas Jamalipour, Head of School of Electrical and Information Engineering
  • Jason Dong, General Manager and Business Development Manager, WesTrac China
  • Grant Dyer, Smart Energy Lead,  IBM Australia and New Zealand
  • Jeffery Ferdinands, Country Head ANZ, Tech Mahindra
  • Geoff Lilliss, former Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Ampcontrol
  • Brian Wright, Director, Jubatus Consulting

Governors of the Foundation Past and Present ( in Alphabetical order)

  • ABB Australia Pty Ltd
  • AEMO
  • Ampcontrol
  • Ausgrid
  • EndeavourEnergy
  • Evans & Peck Group
  • Fujitsu Australia
  • Freelancer Australia
  • Garde Services Pty Ltd
  • GHD
  • IBM Australia Limited
  • Jubatus Pty Ltd
  • Landis + Gyr
  • Leighton Contractors Pty Limited
  • Lend Lease Services
  • NHP Electrical Engineering Products
  • Olex Australia Pty Ltd
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff
  • Sydney Trains (formerly RailCorp NSW)
  • Schneider Electric
  • Siemens Ltd
  • Jacobs (formerly Sinclair Knight Merz)
  • SingTel Optus Pty Ltd
  • Sumitomo Australia Ltd
  • Taihan Electric Australia
  • Telstra Corporation Ltd
  • Thiess Pty Ltd
  • Thiess Services Pty Ltd
  • Tyree Holdings
  • United Group Infrastructure Services


  • EIE Academics
  • Professor Alex Baitch
  • Dr Trevor Bird
  • Mr Steve Finlay
  • Dr David Tien, IEEE NSW Section
  • Mr Allan Gillespie
  • Professor Mike Dureau
  • Dr Ashok Manglick
  • Mr Keiran Passmore
  • Mr David Stuart-Smith
  • Mr David Sweeting