Researchers (Postdoctoral and Visiting)

  • Mr. Andoni Urtasun, Research Student Trainee, Public University of Navarra, Spain, 2014
  • Dr. Liqun Shen, Visiting Scholar, Harbin Institute of Technology, China, 2012-2013
  • A/P Xin Tang, Visiting Scholar, Changsha University of Science and Technology, China, 2012
  • Dr. Andy Ho-Chun Leung, Research Fellow, power system optimization using FACTS, 2011-2012
  • Dr. Grace Mui-Lai Chu, Research Fellow, power converter control, 2010-2011

Graduate Students

  • Sushan Reza, PhD candidate
  • Jim Munro, PhD candidate
  • Jian Qi, PhD candidate, battery energy management
  • Md. Habibullah, PhD candidate, predictive control of motor drives
  • Golosorkhi E. Mohammad Sadegh, PhD candidate, stability and control of microgrid 
  • Mingfei Wu, PhD candidate, stability and control of microgrid
  • Khairul S. B. Muhammad, PhD candidate, high efficiency ac/dc power conversion
  • Le An, PhD candidate, photovoltaic-battery powered pump system design
  • Tian Cheng, MPhil candidate
  • John Long Soon, MPhil candidate, fault-tolerant dc/dc converters
  • Yue Yao, MPhil candidate, power electronics system for UAV
  • Andrei Lachsz, MPhil candidate, modeling of current transformer for power systems


  • Juan Ostos Girald, MPhil (2015). Thesis: Analysis of a New Family of DC-DC Converters with Input-Parallel Output-Series Structure
  • John Kim, MPhil (2014). Thesis: Brushless Doubly-Fed Reluctance Generator under Voltage Dips for Wind Energy Conversion System: Modelling and Simulation
  • Yang Du, PhD (2013). Thesis: Modeling and Analysis of Single-Phase Two-Stage Inverter for Grid-Connected Photovoltaic Application
  • Ian Laird, PhD (2013). Thesis: Thermoelectric Generator: Modelling and Power Electronics Topologies and Control
  • Shu-Kong (Tom) Ki, PhD (2012). Thesis: Analysis and Design of Transformerless Single-Phase Power-Factor-Corrected Switching Converters
  • Wenfei (Bryant) Wang, MPhil (2012). Thesis: Analysis, design and applications of digitally controlled bridgeless AC/DC buck converter
  • Corby Fu, ME research (2009). Thesis: Analysis and design of a modified buck converter for LED applications