About us

Faculty Leadership Team
Professor David Lowe Associate Dean (Education) david.lowe@sydney.edu.au
Associate Professor Peter Gibbens Sub-Dean (Learning and Teaching) peter.gibbens@sydney.edu.au
Associate Professor Marjorie Valix Sub-Dean (Courses) marjorie.valix@sydney.edu.au
Dr Tim Wilkinson Sub-Dean (Students) tim.wilkinson@sydney.edu.au
Dr Glenys Eddy Education Administrative Officer glenys.eddy@sydney.edu.au
Dr Tim Lever Educational Project Officer tim.lever@sydney.edu.au
Ms Annamaria Brancato Manager, Student Administration annamaria.brancato@sydney.edu.au
Ms Natalie Armstrong Director of Academic Services n.armstrong@sydney.edu.au

Learning and Teaching Committee

The Learning and Teaching committee is responsible for enhancing the quality of teaching in the Faculty. It promotes good teaching practice, ensures that academic staff is kept up-to-date with the advances in learning and teaching, reviews the student feedback on teaching (USE, SCEQ and SCEQ data) and makes recommendations.

Meeting dates in 2015: 2 April, 7 May, 25 June, 13 August, 17 September, 29 October; 11-1pm in SIT 509 (Level 5, SIT Building)

Committee intranet (This site is password protected and is available to committee members only)

Committee membership in 2015
Associate Professor Peter Gibbens (chair) Sub-Dean (Learning and Teaching):
Dr Glenys Eddy (secretary) Education Administrative Officer
Professor David Lowe Associate Dean (Education)
Dr Ian Manchester AMME representative
Dr Alejandro Montoya CBE representative
Professor Andy Dong Civil Engineering representative
Dr Abelardo Pardo EIE representative
Dr Kalina Yacef SIT representative
Mr John Currie ACIIC
Dr Tim Lever Educational designer
Dr Jason Chan (s1) Faculty tutor training coordinator
Mr William Fu Undergraduate student representative
Md Sakif Hassan Undergraduate student representative

Courses Committee

The Courses Committee deals with unit of study and degree related issues in the undergraduate and postgraduate coursework programs within the Faculty. This includes consideration of proposals for changes to units and degrees, as well as ensuring that appropriate periodic reviews of programs are carried out.

Meeting dates in 2015: 25 February, 24 March, 28 April, 13 May, 14 July, 22 September, 11-12.30 pm in SIT 509 (Level 5, SIT Building)

Committee membership in 2015
Associate Professor Marjorie Valix Sub-Dean (Courses)
Dr Glenys Eddy (secretary) Education Administrative Officer
Professor David Lowe Associate Dean (Education)
Dr Doug Auld AMME representative
Professor Andrew Ruys Biomedical program representative
Dr Jun Huang
CBE UG representative
Dr John Kavanagh CBE PG representative
Dr Gwénaëlle Proust Civil Engineering representative
Dr Yash Shrivastava
EIE UG representative

Dr Dylan Lu (S1)
Dr Jin Ma (S2)

EIE PG representative
Professor Lynn Crawford Project Management program representative
Professor Joseph Davis SIT representative
Associate Professor Uwe Roehm SIT PG representative
Associate Professor Tom Hubble Science Faculty representative
Dr Tim Lever Educational Design Adviser
Ms Catherine Wakefield Faculty Administration representative
Mr Nikhil Nimmigadda Undergraduate student representative
Ms Kimberley Mai Undergraduate student representative

Students Committee

The Students Committee is responsible for monitoring the overall student experience and ensuring its high quality and integrity. It also makes recommendations regarding the academic policies and practices that govern student activities.

Meeting dates in 2015: 14 April, 28 July, 29 September, 11.15-12.45 pm in SIT 509 (Level 5, SIT Building)

Committee intranet (This site is password protected and is available to committee members only)

Committee membership in 2015
Dr Tim Wilkinson (chair) Sub-Dean (Students) tim.wilkinson@sydney.edu.au
Dr Glenys Eddy (secretary) Education Administrative Officer
Professor David Lowe Associate Dean (Education)
Dr KC Wong AMME representative
Associate Professor Vincent Gomes CBE representative
Dr Peter Cafe Civil Engineering representative
Dr Yash Shrivastava EIE representative
Dr Josiah Poon SIT representative
Dr Philip Boughton or
Professor Andrew Ruys
Biomedical Engineering
Ms Annamaria Brancato Manager, Undergraduate Student Administration
Ms Gouri Gayatri Devi Postgraduate student representative