About us

Faculty Leadership Team
Professor David Lowe Associate Dean (Education) david.lowe@sydney.edu.au
Associate Professor Irena Koprinska Sub-Dean (Learning and Teaching) irena.koprinska@sydney.edu.au
Dr John Kavanagh Sub-Dean (Courses) john.kavanagh@sydney.edu.au
Dr Tim Wilkinson Sub-Dean (Students) tim.wilkinson@sydney.edu.au
Dr Glenys Eddy Education Administrative Officer glenys.eddy@sydney.edu.au
Dr Tim Lever Educational Project Officer tim.lever@sydney.edu.au
Ms Annamaria Brancato Manager, Undergraduate Student Administration annamaria.brancato@sydney.edu.au
Ms Lesley Vaderkwast Manager, Graduate School lesley.vanderkwast@sydney.edu.au

Learning and Teaching Committee

The Learning and Teaching committee is responsible for enhancing the quality of teaching in the Faculty. It promotes good teaching practice, ensures that academic staff is kept up-to-date with the advances in learning and teaching, reviews the student feedback on teaching (USE, SCEQ and SCEQ data) and makes recommendations.

Meeting dates in 2014: 27 March, 8 May, 26 June, 14 August, 18 September, 30 October; 11-1pm in SIT 459 (level 4, SIT Building)

Committee intranet (This site is password protected and is available to committee members only)

Committee membership in 2013
Associate Professor Irena Koprinska (chair) Sub-Dean (Learning and Teaching):
Dr Glenys Eddy (secretary) Education Administrative Officer
Professor David Lowe Associate Dean (Education)
Dr Graham Brooker (s1)
Associate Professor Peter Gibbens (s2)
AMME representative
Associate Professor Fariba Dehgani CBE representative
Professor Andy Dong Civil Engineering representative
Dr Abelardo Pardo EIE representative
Dr Kalina Yacef SIT representative
Mr John Currie ACIIC
Dr Tim Lever Educational designer
Dr Jason Chan (s1) Faculty tutor training coordinator
Ms Vivian Huang Student undergraduate representative
Mr Harrison Steel Student undergraduate representative
Mr Nathan Devakumaran Student postgraduate representative

Courses Committee

The Courses Committee deals with unit of study and degree related issues in the undergraduate and postgraduate coursework programs within the Faculty. This includes consideration of proposals for changes to units and degrees, as well as ensuring that appropriate periodic reviews of programs are carried out.

Meeting dates in 2013: 16 April, 30 April, 21 May, 16 July, 24 September, 22 October

Committee membership in 2013
Dr John Kavanagh (chair) Sub-Dean (Courses):
Dr Glenys Eddy (secretary) Education Administrative Officer
Professor David Lowe Associate Dean (Education)
Dr Doug Auld AMME representative
Dr Jun Huang
Dr Soryong Chae
CBE representative
Dr Gwénaëlle Proust Civil Engineering representative
Dr Yash Shrivastava EIE representative
Associate Professor Masahiro Takatsuka SIT representative
Ms Katy Yang Lu Student undergraduate representative
Ms Nadia Anwar Student undergraduate representative

Students Committee

The Students Committee is responsible for monitoring the overall student experience and ensuring its high quality and integrity. It also makes recommendations regarding the academic policies and practices that govern student activities.

Meeting dates in 2013: 23 April, 30 July, 1 October

Committee intranet (This site is password protected and is available to committee members only)

Committee membership in 2013
Dr Tim Wilkinson (chair) Sub-Dean (Students) tim.wilkinson@sydney.edu.au
Dr Glenys Eddy (secretary) Education Administrative Officer
Professor David Lowe Associate Dean (Education)
Dr KC Wong AMME representative
Associate Professor Vincent Gomes CBE representative
Dr Peter Cafe Civil Engineering representative
Dr Yash Shrivastava EIE representative
Dr Josiah Poon SIT representative
Dr Philip Boughton or
Professor Andrew Ruys
Biomedical Engineering
Ms Annamaria Brancato Manager, Undergraduate Student Administration
Ms Katy Yang Lu Student undergraduate representative
Ms Nadia Anwar Student postgraduate representative