Advisory Board

Associate Professor Rachel Ankeny

Head shot Rachel Ankeny

Rachel A. Ankeny is author of numerous journal articles on topics in the history and philosophy of biology and medicine, among other areas of research expertise. She is a co-founder and organising committee member for the Society for Philosophy of Science in Practice, the Chair of the National Committee for History and Philosophy of Science of the Australian Academy of Science, and Chair of the Committee on Meetings and Programs for the History of Science Society, as well as an associate editor of Studies in History and Philosophy of Science. She currently is Associate Professor in the School of History and Politics and Associate Dean/Research for the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of Adelaide.

Professor Stephen Garton

Photograph of Stephen Garton

Stephen Garton is the author of four books and over sixty articles, chapters and encyclopaedia and historical dictionary entries in such areas as the history of madness, psychiatry, crime, incarceration, masculinity, eugenics, social policy, poverty, returned soldiers, and sexuality. In addition to being a fellow of a number of learned academies and societies he was awarded the Centenary Medal in 2003 for services to Australian history. From 2001 to 2009 Professor Garton was Dean of the Faculty of Arts. He is currently Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sydney.

Professor Stephan Hartmann

Photograph of Stephan Hartmann

Stephan Hartmann is Professor of Philosophy of Science at LMU Munich, Alexander von Humboldt Professor, and Co-Director of the Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy (MCMP). From 2007 to 2012 he worked at Tilburg University, The Netherlands, where he was Chair in Epistemology and Philosophy of Science and Director of the Tilburg Center for Logic and Philosophy of Science (TiLPS). Before moving to Tilburg, he was Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method at the London School of Economics and Director of LSE's Centre for Philosophy of Natural and Social Science. He is President of the European Philosophy of Science Association (EPSA, 2013-2017) and President of the European Society for Analytic Philosophy (ESAP, 2014-2017). His primary research and teaching areas are philosophy of science, philosophy of physics, formal epistemology, and social epistemology. Hartmann published numerous articles and the book Bayesian Epistemology (with Luc Bovens) that appeared in 2003 with Oxford University Press. His current research interests include formal social epistemology (especially models of deliberation, norm emergence, and pluralistic ignorance), the philosophy and psychology of reasoning, intertheoretic relations, and (imprecise) probabilities in quantum mechanics. He is also working on the book Bayesian Philosophy of Science (with Jan Sprenger), which is under contract with Oxford University Press.
intertheoretic relations, and (imprecise) probabilities in quantum mechanics. He is also working on the
book Bayesian Philosophy of Science (with Jan Sprenger), which is under contract with Oxford University Press.

Professor Susan Lindee

Photograph of Susan Lindee

Professor Susan Lindee is a historian at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, PA, who studies historical and contemporary questions raised by human and medical genetics and genomic medicine. Lindee is a Guggenheim Fellow, a Weiler Fellow, and the winner of a Burroughs Wellcome Fund 40th Anniversary Award and the Schuman Prize of the History of Science Society. She is on the Executive Committee, Philadelphia Area Center for the History of Science, and the Advisory Board, Bates Center for the History of Nursing. She is now Associate Dean of the Social Sciences at the University of Pennsylvania. Her books include Suffering Made Real (1994), The DNA Mystique (1995) with the late sociologist Dorothy Nelkin, and Moments of Truth in Genetic Medicine (2005).

Professor Gerard Milburn

Professor Milburn is Deputy Director of the Australian Research Council Center of Excellence for Quantum Computer Technology. He is currently an Australian Research Council Federation Fellow at the University of Queensland. He is a member of a number of international advisory committees including the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics in Canada. Gerard Milburn is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and The American Physical Society.

Professor John Norton

Photograph of John Norton

Professor Norton is Director of the Center for Philosophy of Science at the University of Pittsburgh. He is a founder and executive committee member of the philosophy of science preprint server,, a contributing Editor to Archive for History of Exact Science, a philosophy of physics editor of The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy and serves on several other editorial boards.