Application procedure

Male student contemplating

You can apply to study at the University of Sydney for a starting date in either March or July.

Semester One begins in March, all degree courses are available for this intake.

Semester Two begins in July, only few courses offer limited places for the mid-year intake.

To apply for all University of Sydney undergraduate degrees you need to submit your application online through the Universities Admissions Centre (UAC). UAC collects applications and assesses them on behalf of universities in NSW and ACT.

You can choose up to nine courses in order of preference. Once you have entered your details, uploaded all requested documents and UAC has received your results (for example Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR), Overall Position (OP), International Baccalaureate (IB) or university or TAFE results), UAC will provide these information to the University, which then makes the decision on whether or not to offer you a place.

For more information on the application procedure, visit the UAC website or get a copy of the UAC Guide, which is distributed through newsagents in NSW and ACT from early August onwards. Copies of the UAC Guide are distributed to NSW and ACT Year 12 students through their school.

For a small number of undergraduate courses, you need to apply directly to the University. These courses are not listed in the UAC Guide, including graduate dental and medical programs, Bachelor of Nursing (post-registration) and undergraduate diploma courses.

Applications for Semester One 2015

On-time UAC applications closed on 30 September 2014, you can still apply after this date but late applications incur an additional fee. Final closing date is Friday 20 February 2015.

Your chosen course preferences are being considered during 'offer rounds'. You will only receive one offer per offer round, to your highest preference for which you are eligible, meet the ranking cut-off and any additional selection criteria listed in the UAC Guide.

The University of Sydney participates in multiple UAC offer rounds from 4 December 2014 to late February 2015.

Key dates for offer rounds

Offer round Apply and pay by midnight on All documents to UAC by 4.30pm Change of preferences by midnight on Offer e-release dates
December round Monday 17 November 2014 Friday 28 November 2014 Tuesday 2 December 2014 Thursday 4 December 2014
Early round Friday 5 December 2014 Tuesday 30 December 2014 Sunday 4 January 2015 Tuesday 6 January 2015
Main round Friday 5 December 2014 Friday 16 January 2015 Wednesday 7 January 2015 Wednesday 21 January 2015
February round 1 Tuesday 27 January 2015 Friday 30 January 2015 Tuesday 27 January 2015 Tuesday 3 February 2015
February round 2 Wednesday 4 February 2015 Friday 6 February 2015 Sunday 8 February 2015 Tuesday 10 February 2015
February round 3 Wednesday 11 February 2015 Monday 16 February 2015 Monday 16 February 2015 Wednesday 18 February 2015
February round 4 Friday 20 February 2015  Monday 23 February 2015 Monday 23 February 2015 Wednesday 25 February 2015
* The University of Sydney may not participate in all of these rounds, depending on the offer and enrolment figures. A decision will be made after the main round.