Bachelor of Resource Economics

Course rules

No new admissions from 2015.


Bachelor of Resource Economics

Bachelor of Resource Economics (Honours)

These resolutions must be read in conjunction with applicable University By-laws, Rules and policies including (but not limited to) the University of Sydney (Coursework) Rule 2014 (the 'Coursework Rule'), the Resolutions of the Faculty, the University of Sydney (Student Appeals against Academic Decisions) Rule 2006 (as amended) and the Academic Board policies on Academic Dishonesty and Plagiarism.

Course resolutions

1 Course codes


Course title


Bachelor of Resource Economics (no new admissions from 2015)

2 Attendance pattern

The attendance pattern for this course is full time or part time according to candidate choice.

3 Admission to candidature

Admission to this course is on the basis of a secondary school leaving qualification such as the NSW Higher School Certificate (including national and international equivalents), tertiary study or an approved preparation program. English language requirements must be met where these are not demonstrated by sufficient qualifications taught in English. Special admission pathways are open for mature aged applicants who do not possess a school leaving qualification, educationally disadvantaged applicants and for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. Applicants are ranked by merit and offers for available places are issued according to the ranking. Details of admission policies are found in the Coursework Rule.

4 Requirements for award

The units of study that may be taken for the courses are set out in the Table of units of study for the Bachelor of Resource Economics. The Dean may approve some variation in units of study required for the degree for exceptionally talented students.
To qualify for the degrees of Bachelor of Resource Economics a candidate must successfully complete 192 credit points, comprising of core and elective units as per the table of units of study.

5 Majors

Completion of a major is not a requirement of the course. A major requires the completion of 48 credit points chosen from units of study listed in the table for that major. Units of study counted towards one major may not count toward any other major completed. The majors available are:
Agricultural Science
Commercial Law
Government and International Relations
Marine Science
Soil Science

6 Award of the degree

The Bachelor of Resource Economics is awarded as either Pass or with Honours. Honours are awarded in classes ranging from First Class to Second Class.

7 Weighted average mark (WAM)

For the Bachelor Resource Economics, the Faculty of Agriculture and Environment uses a Year 2/3 WAM that includes all 2000 level and 3000 level units of study. Year 4 WAM will be calculated based on the units chosen from Year 4 of the Units of Study Table.
The WAM calculations use the following formula:
sum(Wc x Mc)  
where Wc is the unit of study credit points x the unit weighting and Mc is the mark achieved for the unit. The mark used for units with a grade AF is zero. Pass/fail units and credited units from other institutions are not counted. All units carry a weighting of one, except the individual research components of undergraduate degrees, which carry a weighting of two.

8 Award of the degree of Bachelor with Honours

For the degree of Bachelor of Resource Economics
To qualify for the award of Honours a student must normally:
have a Year 2/3 WAM of at least 65; and
complete an independent research component as part of the final year of the program with an overall honours mark of at least 65.
The overall honours mark shall be the average of the Year 2/3 WAM and the Year 4 WAM.
Honours is awarded in the following classes:

Level of honours

Overall honours mark

Minimum WAM Years 2/3

First Class

mark >= 75


Second Class, Division 1

70 <= mark < 75


Second Class, Division 2

65 <= mark < 70


Honours not awarded

mark <65


9 Transitional provisions

These resolutions apply to persons who commenced their candidature after 1 January, 2014 and persons who commenced their candidature prior to 1 January, 2014 who elect to proceed under these resolutions.