Commercial Law

The Commercial Law major introduces students to commercial law and enables them to undertake an in-depth specialisation in some of its key areas – including corporate law, securities market regulation, banking and finance, taxation, insolvency, franchising, intellectual property, corporate crime, trade practices and consumer law. These specialist units are designed to provide the basis of a professional capability in the area far beyond the general introduction.

Requirements for a major in Commercial Law

For the award of a major in Commercial Law, students complete:

(1) a six credit point junior prerequisite unit of study, as follows:

  • CLAW1001 Foundations of Business Law.

(2) 36 credit points in elective senior units of study selected from the following:

  • CLAW2201 Corporations Law
  • CLAW2202 Business Failure and Restructuring
  • CLAW2203 Regulation of Securities Markets
  • CLAW2204 Banking and Finance Law
  • CLAW2205 Competition and Consumer Law
  • CLAW2207 Business, Ethics and the Law
  • CLAW2208 Business Regulation, Risk and Compliance
  • CLAW2209 Intellectual Property for Business
  • CLAW2210 Chinese Tax *
  • CLAW2211 Commercial Practice in China
  • CLAW2212 Franchising
  • CLAW2213 Legal Regulation of International Business
  • CLAW3201 Australian Taxation System
  • CLAW3202 Tax Strategies for Business
  • CLAW3204 Regulation of Capital Raising *
  • CLAW3206 Regulation of Mergers and Acquisitions
  • CLAW3207 Employment Regulation for Business
  • CLAW3208 Corporate Crime and Business.

* Not offered for 2016.

Note: All units of study listed are six credit points unless otherwise indicated.

Unit of study table for details of unit of study prerequisites, corequisites and other requirements are outlined in the Business School unit of study table.