Sydney College of Advanced Education 1982-1989

Sydney College of Advanced Education (CAE) was established in 1982 following the amalgamation of Alexander Mackie CAE, the Guild Teachers College, the Nursery School Teachers College, Sydney Kindergarten Teachers College and Sydney Teachers College.

The new college consisted of 6 institutes and one centre: City Art Institute, the Institute of Early Childhood Studies, the Institute of Nursing Studies (created in 1984), the Institute of Technical and Adult Teacher Education, St George Institute of Education, Sydney Institute of Education and the Guild Centre.

The first emblem of Sydney CAE was a logo consisting of the first letters of the College's name.

At the conclusion of a review of the College's objectives and governance structure in 1985 a new emblem was adopted.

The emblem depited the flame of learning in the form of an "S" rising from a crucible containing six stars, one for each of the institutes. Each star had seven points to symbolise the insitutes and the Guild Centre.