Scholarships and Bursaries for Residents and Applicants

International House has scholarships and bursaries which are available to assist those residents who may be in considerable financial need. Applicants need to show by their participation in the affairs and activities of the House that they appreciate the aims and objectives of International Houses in general and of the University of Sydney International House in particular.

Residents who are eligible and wish to apply for scholarships/bursaries should do so by the following dates:

Scholarships and Bursaries  Closing dates for application 
Women's Committee Bursaries 11 March 2012
Ian Hudson Scholarship 11 March 2012
Michael H. Rathgeber Scholarship  3 December 2011
Mollie Burns Bursary 11 March 2012
Graeme de Graaff Bursary 30 April 2011 and 31 August 2011
Rosalie McCutcheon Scholarship 30 April 2011 and 31 August 2011
IH Scholarship Fund 11 March 2012
Diane & Howard Cook Award 21 October 2011

Applicants will be advised of the outcome of their application as soon as possible after the closing dates.

  1. Women's Committee Bursaries
  2. Ian Hudson Scholarship
  3. Michael H. Rathgeber Scholarship
  4. Mollie Burns Bursary
  5. Graeme de Graaff Bursary
  6. Rosalie McCutcheon Scholarship
  7. IH Scholarship Fund
  8. Diane & Howard Cook Award
  9. Rural Sustainability Scholarships

Women's Committee Bursaries

The initial money raised for the bursaries first came from the Women's Committee. This Committee has ceased to exist but the bursary fund is kept alive by a small contribution through fees from all residents and from the income on the capital. Bursaries are awarded on the basis of proven financial need and proven contribution toward the life of the House. The value of each Bursary is decided according to individual need, funds available and the number of bursaries awarded. Each bursary is generally available for one year in the first instance. Closing Date: 11 March 2012.

To apply for Women's Committee Bursaries you can download the application form here.

Ian Hudson Scholarship

Mr Ian Hudson, whose energy and devotion to the House in its earliest years and whose links with Rotary International were largely responsible for the creation of The University of Sydney International House, also provides money annually to assist a resident in financial need. This scholarship is for postgraduate residents only. Closing Date: 11 March 2012.

To apply for Ian Hudson Scholarship you can download the application form here.

Michael H. Rathgeber Scholarship

The scholarship was established in 1971 by a gift from Dr and Mrs Henri Rathgeber, in memory of their son, Michael, who lived in the House from its inception until his death in Japan in 1969. This scholarship is awarded by the Vice-Chancellor of The University of Sydney on the advice of an IH Selection Committee. The Scholarship is awarded to any undergraduate or post graduate of the University of Sydney who has a good academic record or prospects or with special abilities, who would benefit from residence in International House and contribute to its purpose, but who would not be able to live in International House without financial assistance.

This scholarship is for 50% of the International House fees at the time for a single study bedroom for one academic year but may be awarded for a subsequent year or years. Preference will be given to an indigenous Australian or a student from Papua New Guinea or the Pacific Islands. Closing Date: 03 December 2011.

To apply for Michael H. Rathgeber Scholarship you can download the application form here.

Mollie Burns Bursary

This bursary was established in 2004 from funds donated by Ms Mollie Burns who was a member of The Women's Committee. The bursary is open to all Australian female residents of International House or all Australian female applicants for a place at International House, including first year students, who are of sound academic status or Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) , to assist residents with general academic or living expenses, including accommodation.

The award must be approved by the International House Finance Committee on the recommendation of a selection committee consisting of the Director and Assistant Director of the House and the Chairperson of International House Members' Association. Closing Date: 11 March 2012.

To apply for Mollie Burns Bursary you can download the application form here.

Graeme de Graaff Bursary

This bursary is to assist a resident with the costs of attending a national or international conference and is awarded by SUIHAA (Alumni Association). Closing Dates: 30 April 2011 and 31 August 2011.

To apply for Graeme de Graaff Scholarship you can download the application form here.

Rosalie McCutcheon Scholarship

This scholarship is to assist a resident with the costs of attending a conference, seminar or workshop in their area of study or on international issues. Closing Dates: 30 April 2011 and 31 August 2011.

To apply for Rosalie McCutcheon Scholarship you can download the application form here.

IH Scholarship Fund

In 2007 the House held its 40th anniversary and set up the IH Scholarship Fund to mark the occasion. Donations were received from alumni and friends of the House. The funds are now available to new applicants and returning residents. Applications will be assessed on their academic ability, financial need and contribution or possible contribution to the IH community. Closing date: 11 March 2012.

To apply for IH Scholarship Fund you can download the application form here.

Diane & Howard Cook Award

Howard Cook was President of New York International House for 20 years until 1980 and helped in the planning of International House, Sydney. Howard and his wife Diane presented a gift to the House in 1985 to provide an annual award to the House resident who during the academic year best exemplified the ideals of International House:

  • to promote greater understanding and fellowship between people of different nationalities by education and other means
  • to promote the ideal of the International Houses 'that brotherhood may prevail'
  • to promote the exchange of international ideas, knowledge and cultures.

Mr Cook passed away in 1996 but the award lives on in his name. The award is presented at the last House formal dinner of the year. Nominations are called for by the Director and residents of the House nominate the resident that has best demonstrated throughout the year the ideals listed above. Closing Date: 21 October 2011.

Rural Sustainability Scholarships

The Rural Sustainability Scholarship has been established to support students from a rural area that may have considered undertaking a University degree financially unattainable.

This Scholarship is provided by the Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources. This is a three-year scholarship, available to students from a non-Sydney metropolitan area with a passion for sustainability in natural and agriculture systems, including the areas of carbon, water and food security.

The scholarship may be taken as a residential bursary at International House which has reserved places attached to the Rural Sustainability Scholarship.

For more information about this scholarship and how to apply please click here.