Prof. Benjamin Eggleton

Prof. Ben Eggleton

Prof. Benjamin Eggleton is currently an ARC Federation Fellow and Professor of Physics at the University of Sydney. Benjamin Eggleton is also Director of the Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS), an ARC Centre of Excellence.

Prof. Benjamin Eggleton has co-authored more than 300 journal papers, presented more than 100 invited and plenary presentations at international conferences, and has filed 35 patents. He has received several significant awards. Recently, in 2011 he received the Eureka prize for Leadership in Science. In 2008 the NSW Scientist of the year award: Category for Physics and Astronomy. In 2007 Professor Eggleton received the Pawsey Medal from the Australian Academy of Sciences, in 2004 he received the Prime Minister's Malcolm McIntosh Science Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year, in 2003 the ICO Prize (International Commission for Optics), and in 1998 was awarded the Adolph Lomb Medal from the Optical Society of America. He was President of the Australian Optical Society from 2008-2010 and is Editor of Optics Communications.