Advisory Board and Affiliates

John Grill AO
Chairman, WorleyParsons Ltd; Chairman of Industry Growth Centres
The Hon Nick Greiner AC
Chairman Bradken, QBE Australia/Asia-Pacific and Accolade Wines
Sir David Higgins
Chairman High Speed Two (HS2) Ltd; Non-Executive Director Commonwealth Bank of Australia
Catherine Livingstone AO - Affiliate Member
Chairman Telstra Corporation Ltd; WorleyParsons Limited, The George Institute for Global Health, and Saluda Medical Pty Ltd. President of the Business Council of Australia.
Kevin McCann AM
Chairman Macquarie Group Ltd, Macquarie Bank Ltd
Jim McIlvenny
Senior Vice President The Dow Chemical Company; Chairman Dow Sadara Project Office
Dr Stuart McGill
Board member and Advisor
John Mulcahy
Chairman Coffey, Independent Non-Executive Chair, Mirvac

John Grill AO

John Grill

John Grill is the current chair and was the former chief executive of international resources and energy company WorleyParsons.

His influence on Australian society was acknowledged in the 2014 round of Australia Day Honours with the receipt of an Officer in the Order of Australia award. He was named Engineers Australia Professional Engineer of the Year in 2006 and awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Sydney in 2010 in recognition of his contribution to the engineering profession. He is the Chairman of Industry Growth Centres and is also on the board of Neuroscience Research Australia.

Read more

The Hon Nick Greiner AC

Nick Greiner

Nick Greiner is Chairman of Bradken, QBE Australia/Asia-Pacific and Accolade Wines and Deputy Chairman of CHAMP Private Equity.

He is also Chairman of the Advisory Council for Degremont and the SAS Group of companies in Australia and New Zealand; Senior Advisor to Rothschild globally and Chairman, Council of Advisors, Rothschild Australia Limited.

He was most recently Chairman of Infrastructure NSW from June 2011 to July 2013.

Nick is a Member of the Board of Governors, Committee for Economic Development of Australia (CEDA) and a member of the Corporate Council, The European Australian Business Council (EABC). He is also a Trustee of the Sydney Theatre Company Foundation and a member of the Harvard Business School Asia-Pacific Advisory Board.

He was Premier and Treasurer of New South Wales from 1988-1992.

Nick gained his degree in Economics from Sydney University and his Master of Business Administration from Harvard Business School.

Sir David Higgins

David Higgins

David is Non-Executive Chair of High Speed Two (HS2) Ltd, (appointed in January 2014) and an independent Non-Executive Director of Commonwealth Bank of Australia (appointed September 2014).

Previously he was a Non-Executive Director of Network Rail Infrastructure Ltd and on from February 2011 took the role of Chief Executive of Network Rail Infrastructure Limited.

David was Chief Executive of the Olympic Delivery Authority. Prior to December 2005, he was Chief Executive of English Partnerships, the Government’s national regeneration agency, for 3 years.

David graduated in Civil Engineering from the University of Sydney & holds a Diploma from the Securities Institute of Australia. Following graduation, he spent time working in the UK & Africa, returning to Australia in 1981 & joined the Lend Lease Group, an international property & construction company, in 1985. In 1995, he was appointed Managing Director & Group Chief Executive of the Group.

Catherine Livingstone AO

Catherine Livingstone

Catherine is currently Chairman of Telstra Corporation Ltd and a director of WorleyParsons Limited, The George Institute for Global Health and Saluda Medical Pty Ltd, and is President of the Business Council of Australia, and the Australian Museum Trust.

Catherine is a member of the Prime Minister’s Business Advisory Council and has worked on many Government Reviews over the past 10 years, including most recently, as a member of the Advisory Panel for the Australia in the Asian Century White Paper. Catherine also a member of the External Advisory Panel for ASIC.

After qualifying as a chartered accountant and working with Price Waterhouse in Sydney and London, Catherine joined the Nucleus Group and spent nearly 20 years working in the field of implantable medical devices, including 6 years as CEO of Cochlear Limited from 1994-2000.

Catherine was Chairman of CSIRO from 2001-2006, President of Chief Executive Women from 2007-2008, and the Chairman of The Australian Business Foundation, (an independent business–sponsored research think tank focussed on the concept of innovation led growth), from 2002-2005. Catherine also served on the Boards of Macquarie Group Limited, Goodman Fielder Ltd and Rural Press Ltd. She was also a member of the NSW Government Innovation and Productivity Council from 2007-2013.

Kevin McCann AM

Kevin McCann

Kevin McCann is Chairman of Macquarie Group Limited and Macquarie Bank Limited, a member of the Corporate Governance Committee of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) and the Australian Treasury Advisory Council (ATAC), a Fellow of the Senate of the University of Sydney, Director of Evans and Partners Pty Ltd and Director of The United States Studies Centre.

He was previously partner and chairman of Allens Arthur Robinson, and Chairman of Healthscope Ltd, Origin Energy Limited, ING Management Limited and the Sydney Harbour Federation Trust and a Director of Pioneer International Ltd, Ampol Ltd, the State Rail Authority of New South Wales.

Mr McCann gained his degree in law from the University of Sydney and his Master of Law from Harvard Law School.

Jim McIlvenny

Jim McIlvenny

Jim McIlvenny is a Senior Vice President of The Dow Chemical Company and Chairman of the Dow Sadara Project Office responsible for leading one of Dow's key, large-scale investments designed to enhance the long-term profitability of the Company. He also sits on the Board of Directors for Sadara Chemical Company as Deputy Chairman and is Chairman of Sadara’s Project Execution Committee.

Jim joined Dow in Australia in 1982, and has since held a number of positions in the areas of technical service, sales, marketing, and business leadership. He has held the posts of CEO & Chairman of Filmtec Corporation, President & CEO of Hampshire Corporation, President of Union Carbide Corporation, and President Dow Asia Pacific. In 2009, he was named as a Senior Vice President of Dow with responsibility for the Performance Products Division which accounted for $13 billion in sales to Dow.

Jim graduated from the University of Sydney with a bachelor's degree in chemical engineering.

Dr Stuart McGill

Stuart McGill

Dr McGill is a governor of the Committee for Economic Development of Australia (CEDA), a board member of the Warren Centre for Advanced Engineering at the University of Sydney, and a council member of the Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Foundation at the University.

He retired as senior vice-president, ExxonMobil Corporation, in 2007. His 38-year career in the energy business took him to all significant oil and gas production and processing areas of the world. At retirement he was a member of ExxonMobil’s management committee.

Dr McGill completed his undergraduate and doctorate degrees in chemical engineering at the University of Sydney.

John Mulcahy

John Mulcahy

John Mulcahy is Chairman of Coffey International, Independent Non-Executive Chair of Mirvac Group, GWA Group Limited and ALS Limited. He is also a Guardian of the Future Fund.

He was previously Managing Director and Chief executive of Suncorp Metway. Prior to Suncorp John held senior executive positions at Commonwealth Bank and Lend Lease.

John gained his undergraduate and doctorate degrees in Civil Engineering at the University of Sydney.