James Halliday

BA 1959, LLB 1962

James Halliday has had a remarkable career, as a lawyer, writer and a winemaker. He is one of Australia's most respected wine writers and one of its most senior wine judges, and in the past 35 years has combined his career as a partner at Clayton Utz (1966-1988) with that as a vigneron, first in the Hunter Valley from 1970, then in the Yarra Valley from 1985.

In 1970, James Halliday co-founded Brokenwood winery in the Hunter Valley. He went on to found Coldstream Hills in the Yarra Valley in 1985. In addition, he has had winemaking experience in France, including a vintage with Domaine Dujac in Burgundy. In 1996, Coldstream Hills was acquired by Southcorp Wines. For the next four years, James Halliday was Group Winemaker, Regional Wineries at Southcorp Limited, where he was responsible for several wineries. With the advent of Winepros, he will relinquish that role but continue an active role as a consultant to Coldstream Hills.

James Halliday has written and co-authored over 40 books on wine since 1979 and has contributed to numerous others, including Jancis Robinson's Oxford Companion to Wine and the Larousse Encyclopedia of Wine. His books have received numerous awards, among them the Wine Spectator Book of the Year (Wine Atlas of California), the Gold Award at the World Food Media Awards (Wine Atlas of Australia and New Zealand) and Best Multimedia Lifestyle Product at the Australian Industry Multimedia Awards (James Halliday's Interactive Wine Companion of Australia and New Zealand CD-ROM). Several of his titles have been translated into foreign languages, including French, German, Japanese and Danish. James Halliday also maintains twice-weekly wine columns in The Australian newspaper.

A wine judge since 1977, James Halliday has been Chairman of Judges of the Victorian Wine Show, Sydney International Winemakers Competition, Adelaide Wine Show and National Wine Show Canberra. He judges regularly in the United Kingdom, United States, South Africa and New Zealand.

James Halliday has been recognised at the highest level for his contribution to the wine industry. He has received awards that include the Charles Heidsieck Award for Excellence in Wine Journalism (1983), the James Beard award in both 1993 and 1994, the Julia Child award for Best Wine, Spirits or Beer Book (1994) and the Maurice O'Shea Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Australian wine industry (1995), which has been previously received by Max Schubert, David Wynn and Len Evans.

Source: Winepros