Lifespan Research

A life stage-relevant, 'whole of life' approach to health and medical research.

Discover more >

Lifespan Research Network

The Lifespan Research Network is a diverse community of researchers from The University of Sydney and affiliated Centres and Institutes devoted to the study of human health and development across the stages of life.


2016 Lifespan Research Day

A successful Lifespan Research Day on Thursday 21 July highlighted the breadth of research within the Lifespan theme. The program provided an excellent opportunity to learn about some of the innovative, collaborative and potentially highly impactful projects that our Network members are engaged in.

Sincere thanks and congratulations to all presenters and our keynote speakers Prof Joerg Eberhard, Dr Leanne Hassett and Dr David Hunter, for inspiring us with such engaging and thought-provoking presentations.


Hard copies of the abstracts booklet are available from the Lifespan office .

Dr Harriet Gunn wins 2016 Lifespan Collaboration Award

We congratulate Dr Harriet Gunn, the 2016 winner of the Lifespan Collaboration Award for her project TransitionMate: A mobile phone application to support self-management and transition in young people with chronic illness.

Harriet was presented with the award by Lifespan co-leader Prof Richard Lindley at Lifespan Research Day on Thursday July 21. She has won $1000 to contribute to direct research costs.

The 2016 Lifespan Collaboration Award recognises outstanding multidisciplinary, cross-faculty and/ or international collaboration in lifespan research.

Congratulations also to the Award Finalists: Devanshi Seth, Cathie Sherrington, Bridget Foley and Hasthi Dissanayake.

Anne Tiedemann wins NHMRC Research Excellence Award

Assoc Prof Anne Tiedemann

Congratulations to Associate Professor Anne Tiedemann on her recent honour as the winner of the NHMRC Research Excellence Award for Population Health.

Anne's fellowship funding will allow her to establish herself as an independent researcher evaluating exercise-based strategies to prevent falls and promote healthy ageing.

Anne is the Chair of the Lifespan Emerging Researchers Committee and a member of the Lifespan Advisory Board.

Queen's Birthday honour - Prof David Le Couteur AO

Prof David Le Couteur AO

We congratulate Professor David Le Couteur who was made Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for his distinguished service to medicine as a clinical pharmacologist and geriatrician.

David is a valued member of the Lifespan Advisory Board and is Professor of Medicine at Concord Clinical School and ANZAC Research Institute.

SMS 2015 Lifespan Collaboration Award

SMS 2015 Lifespan Collaboration Award winner Dr Francisco Schneuer

The first SMS 2015 Lifespan Collaboration Award has been presented to Dr Francisco Schneuer together with collaborators from Children’s Hospital Westmead and two Western Australian universities. The winning project utilises record linking of extensive population data sets to investigate male reproductive health outcomes.



The University of Sydney, the Australian Academy of Science and Ian Potter Foundation are just some of the organisations with current opportunities for researchers.

Applications are now open for a range of grants, awards, fellowships, conference and travel grants with closing dates in August, September and October.

More details...