Syringe MVC test girl with microscope

Discipline of Biomedical Science

The Discipline of Biomedical Science, a Discipline within the School of Medical Sciences, is located on the Cumberland Campus at Lidcombe. The Discipline provides units of study in anatomy, physiology and other sciences for the majority of the undergraduate and some of the postgraduate students enrolled in the Faculty of Health Sciences. Around 2600 hours of teaching per year is undertaken in the Discipline´s teaching laboratories.

Latest news

Biomedical Science staff involvement in brain awareness week at International Grammar School Sydney

brain awareness week 2015 thumb image

Brain Awareness Week (BAW) is held in March every year. This global campaign aims to increase public awareness of the benefits and progress of brain research. Dr Jin Huang and her team were involved in a variety of fun and hands-on activities at the International Grammar School Sydney.

Congratulations to Matt McCrary on getting his first paper published in a highly prestigious journal

thumb image photo of Matt McCrary

Congratulations to Matt McCrary, Dr Bronwen Ackermann's Master student who got his first paper published in the highly prestigious British Journal of Sports Medicine.

Congratulations to three Bio postgraduate students who graduated with PhD recently

thumb image graduations

Congratulations to Dr Verity Pacey, Dr Laila Arzuman and Dr Darren Reed who graduated with PhD recently.

Media reports research findings of Bio PhD student, Ian O'Brien

thumb image Ian O

Congratulations to Ian O'Brien, a PhD student in the Discipline who was reported and interviewed in the media following recent publication of his research on hearing loss and hearing conservation amongst Australia's professional orchestras.