About the Discipline of Biomedical Science

Welcome to the Discipline of Biomedical Science.

The Discipline of Biomedical Science, a Discipline within the School of Medical Sciences, is located on the Cumberland Campus at Lidcombe. The Discipline provides units of study in anatomy, physiology and other sciences for the majority of the undergraduate and some of the postgraduate students enrolled in the Faculty of Health Sciences. Around 2600 hours of teaching per year is undertaken in the Discipline’s teaching laboratories.

Postgraduate research training is also available through the Sydney Medical School. Our postgraduate research program supports the postgraduate research degrees Master of Philosophy (MPhil) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD). Specialist supervision is available in a number of fields of study which include musculoskeletal anatomy, neuroscience, body systems physiology, biochemistry, microbiology, and teaching and learning. If you are interested in finding out more, take the time to browse the research areas page where you can find information regarding the Discipline’s key research areas and other relevant details. Currently there are approximately twenty postgraduate research students studying in the Discipline of Biomedical Science.