School of Medical Sciences banner

The School of Medical Sciences (SMS) is administratively and financially part of the Sydney Medical School where it teaches a range of discipline-areas to Medical and Dental students. The School is also however academically part of the Faculty of Science where it teaches extensively in the Bachelor of Medical Science as well as in many discipline-based courses in the Bachelor of Science. The School also teaches into the Bachelor of Pharmacy degree.

The School was formed in 2001 and incorporates the former Departments (now Disciplines in the School) of Pathology, Pharmacology, Physiology and Anatomy & Histology which itself was formed by a merger in 1993 of the, until then, separate Department of Anatomy and Department of Histology & Embryology. All these Disciplines of SMS are on the Camperdown Campus in the Anderson Stuart, Bosch-Blackburn and Medical Foundation buildings. In 2006, the School also intergrated the Discipline of Biomedical Science which until then had been the School of Biomedical Sciences of the Faculty of Health Sciences at the Cumberland Campus. The Discipline of Biomedical Science remains on the Cumberland Campus adding to the considerable geographical spread of the School. The School is also home to the University’s major initiative in basic and clinical neuroscience, the Brain and Mind Centre located on the Mallet Street Campus of Camperdown. The School of Medical Sciences is thus by far the largest School in the University of Sydney and larger than many of the seventeen Faculties.

Apart from its teaching activities, The School is probably the most research-intensive in the University and a major player in Australian and international biomedical research across a range of fields. Further details on the School’s many courses can be found on the linked websites of the Disciplines and details of our extensive research activities are found on the linked Bosch Institute and BMRI websites.