Lead researchers on Reproductive Maternal and Child Health committee appointed to principal NHMRC committees

Professor Kathryn North, Douglas Burrows Professor of Paediatrics and Child Health, Associate Dean at the University of Sydney, and Head of the Institute for Neuroscience and Muscle Research at the Children’s Hospital at Westmead, has been appointed the Chair of the NHMRC Research Committee. This is a highly prestigious position and is recognition of Kathy’s research excellence and of her outstanding abilities as an academic research leader and advocate. Kathy is the first paediatrician to be appointed to Chair this committee which is responsible for overseeing the allocation of NHMRC research funding. She has also been appointed as a member of the NHMRC Research Council.

Professors John Christodoulou and Louise Baur, both from the Discipline of Paediatrics and Child Health, Sydney Medical School and The Kids research Institute, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead who have been appointed as members of the NHMRC Human Genetics Advisory Committee and NHMRC Prevention and Community Health Committee respectively.