Prizes and Scholarships Presentation 2012

The annual Prizes and Scholarships Presentation was held in the Burkitt-Ford Lounge of the Edward Ford Building on 23 August 2012. The evening celebrates the achievements of medical and postgraduate students over the past 12 months.

Sydney Medical Program Prizes

Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists Prize (2008)
Shannon Stogryn

J L Shellshear Memorial Prize for Surgical Anatomy (1959)
Petria Carter
Yara Chehade

John and Lillian Frances Laycock Memorial Prize [anatomy] (2008)
Katherine Francis
Adrian Lo

McMahon Tennent Prize for Biochemistry (1952)
Jenna Joester

Edith Collins Prize into Alcohol Abuse and Related Disorders (2011)
Abhijit Pal

Jan Coppleson Memorial Prize for Cancer Medicine (1984)
Georgia McCaughan

Harold John Ritchie Memorial Prize for Clinical Medicine (1955)
Elke Woodhouse

Harry J Clayton Memorial Prize for Medicine and Clinical Medicine (1929)
Olga Gaitsgory

Professor C R B Blackburn Prize for Medicine RPAH (2010)
Olga Gaitsgory

Joye Prize in Medicine [Honours] (2008)
Georgia McCaughan

Iain Buzzard Dunlop Memorial Prize [Honours] (2004)
Alice Grey

Dean’s Prize for Research (2009)
Matilda Anderson
Richard Blennerhassett
Daniel Daly

Arthur Edward Mills Graduation Prize (1940)
Elke Woodhouse

Dagmar Berne Prize [proficiency in year 4] (1915)
Rosemary Brungs

George Allan Prize [proficiency in year 4] (1952)
Geoffrey Collins

Robert Scot Skirving Memorial Prize [proficiency in year 4] (1957)
Elke Woodhouse

John Harris Scholarship [proficiency in stage 2] (1887)
Vanessa El-Achi
Christopher Sadler
Samantha Sundercombe

Renwick Prize [proficiency in stage 2] (1877)
Lachlan Alexander
Thomas Chan
Simon Lawendy

Joint Semmelweis and Harold Alfred Waldron Memorial Prize in Clinical Infectious Diseases (1991/1938)
Annaleise Howard-Jones

A Hing Memorial Prize in Gynaecology (1965)
Finn Ghent
Stephen James Wong

Dame Constance D’Arcy Memorial Prize in Gynaecology (1952)
Annaleise Howard-Jones

Dr Grace Cuthbert Browne Prize in Obstetrics and Gynaecology (1990)
Phillip Collins

Mabel Elizabeth Leaver Memorial Prize in Obstetrics (1955)
Geoffrey Collins

RANZCOG Women’s Health Award (2005)
Tania Pertot

James and Margaret Claffy Prize in Ophthalmology (1965)
Nicole Fardell

Douglas Cohen Prize for Paediatric Surgery (1985)
Brooke Wilson

Paediatric Health Education Prize (1984)
Eric Tredget

The Children’s Hospital at Westmead Medical Staff Council Prize in Paediatrics (1998)
Annaleise Howard-Jones

Dr H G Chapman Prize [original research in physiology] (1930)
Jad Matar

A T Edwards Memorial Prize [elective term in psychiatry] (1985)
Maryam Nesvaderani

Campbell Kordick Memorial Prize [psychiatry] (1988)
Alice Grey

Cedric Swanton Memorial Prize [essay in psychiatry] (1974)
Kate Johnson

Dr F Norton Manning Memorial Prize [psychiatry] (1907)
Elke Woodhouse

Dun Surgery Prize [elective term] (1974)
Samuel Lindquist

Hinder Memorial Prize [Honours in surgery] (1918)
David Gale

Joint Sidney B Clipsham and William Henry and Eliza Alice Sharp Prize in Surgery (1913/1938)
Geoffrey Collins

K C T Rawle 104 ACCS Association Prize [surgery] (1981)
Andrew Emanuel
Finn Ghent

Sir John Loewenthal Prize [surgery, RPAH] (1981)
Alice Grey
Georgia McCaughan

Sydney Medical Program Dean's Scholarships

Dean’s Independent Learning Activity Scholarships (2009)
Katy Harrington
Sophie McLeod
Jesse Schloegel

Dean’s Elective Term Scholarships (2009)
Anna Barbouttis
Charles Betts
Paul Bonnitcha
Costa Boyages
Michelle Emerson
Alexandra Evenden
David Goltsman
Stephane Hemmerter
Ciara McDonald
Aruna Shivam
Julie Sze

Sydney Medical Program Elective Term Scholarships

Dr Carl Richard Jackson Scholarship (2009)
Joshua Serov
Tegan Van Gemert

A M Taylor Scholarships in Orthopaedic and Traumatic Surgery (2008)
Andrew Cahill
Cam Hollows
Arridh Shashank
Anna Sokolova
Zachariah Turner

Sydney Medical Program Honours Scholarships

G S Caird Scholarship No I (1918)
David Philp

G S Caird Scholarship No II
Jana Vitesnikova

Nemettallah and Kamle Habib Family Scholarship (1998)
Jennifer Kozlovski

Alexander James Scholarship (1981)
Emily Griffin

Dr Charlotte Last Memorial Scholarship (1997/2008)
Vanessa Thomas

John Wait Scholarship (1944)
Timothy West

University of Sydney Academic Merit Prize

Year 1
Karen Lee
Mitchell Lee
Jina Rhou
Martin Seneviratne
Adam Stanton
Alex Stoyanov
Anisha Walavalkar

Year 2
Lachlan Alexander
Thomas Chan
Vanessa El-Achi
Simon Lawendy
Christopher Sadler
Samantha Sundercombe

Year 3
Sebastian Brown
Jasan Dannaway
Louise Greenup
Farmey Joseph
Lauren King
Elie Matar
Clare O’Sullivan
Simon Rowe
Jade Schroers
Anna Sokolova

Postgraduate Prizes

Peter Bancroft Prize (1923)
Richard Chi
Rebecca Freeman
Susan Hart
Michael Huang
Jodie Ingles
Laura Lecce
Luciola Menezes
Olav Nielssen
Raymond Sy
Christiana Titaley
Megan Whitnall
Andy Yong

Dean’s Research Publication Prize (2009)
Soon Keen Cheong

Professor John Irvine Hunter Prize for Research in Anatomical Sciences (1990)
David Krimmer
Phillip Romo

Bercovici Medal and Prize (1997)
Francine Marques

Clarence and Mabel Clark Prize [ophthalmology] (1988)
Daniel Brettell

Dr Adam Locket Award for Ophthalmic Anatomy (2007)
Emil Kurniawan

Francis A Billson Award [ophthalmic physiology] (2008)
Emil Kurniawan