Inaugural MD Research Symposium celebrates the research of the first completing MD cohort at the University of Sydney

The Inaugural MD Research Symposium was held on 27 and 28 September in the Charles Perkins Centre. Forty-seven MD students presented their research to their peers, their research tutors and coordinators and the wider Sydney Medical School in the form of either an oral seminar or poster. The two-day proceedings were a resounding success and showcased the diversity of research, and research excellence undertaken by the first ever MD cohort in the Sydney Medical School.

Prizes were awarded to the best oral and poster presentations from students who had completed their research project at each of the Clinical Schools, School of Rural Health or Children’s Hospital, Westmead. The best overall oral and poster presentations were presented the Dean’s Prize by Professor Arthur Conigrave.

Prize recipients are as follows:

Dean’s Prize (Best Oral) – Mr Joshua Lee
Dean’s Prize (Best Poster) – Mr Michael Tierney

Central Clinical School (Best Oral) – Ms Emily Bek
Central Clinical School (Joint Runner-up Oral) – Ms Catalina Palma
Central Clinical School (Joint Runner-up Oral) – Mr Alexander McCarthy
Central Clinical School (Best Poster) – Mr Abraham Rizkalla

Concord Clinical School (Best Oral) – Mr Stuart Jackson
Concord Clinical School (Runner-up Oral) – Mr Matthew Behan
Concord Clinical School (Best Poster) – Mr Wallace Chow

Northern Clinical School (Best Oral) – Mr Adam Carroll
Northern Clinical School (Runner-up Oral) – Mr Michael O’Donnell
Northern Clinical School (Best Poster) – Mr Tom Huang

Nepean Clinical School (Best Oral) – Mr James Toft
Nepean Clinical School (Best Poster) – Ms Alexandra Ricci

Rural Clinical Schools (Best Oral) – Mr Samuel Skidmore
Concord Clinical School (Best Poster) – Ms Sarah Vaccari

SAN Clinical School (Best Oral) – Ms Nicole Nahm
Joint SAN/CHW Clinical School (Runner-up Oral) – Mr Jack Luxford

Westmead Clinical School (Best Oral) – Mr Kevin Phan
Westmead Clinical School (Runner-up Oral) – Mr John Paul O’Shea
Westmead Clinical School (Best Poster) – Ms Min Young Park

CHW Clinical School (Best Oral) – Mr Daniel Hirsch
CHW Clinical School (Best Poster) – Ms Caitlyn Swinney