Discipline of Pharmacology

Discipline of Pharmacology

The Discipline of Pharmacology of the University of Sydney is the largest of its kind in Australia, with an extensive range of research programs and well equipped undergraduate teaching facilities.

Latest news & events


  • The 2016 Seminar Program is available here.
  • Our Honours booklet for 2016 is now available here

Latest news

It is with great pleasure that we acknowledge a series of recent successes in fellowship and grant applications by members of the Discipline of Pharmacology:


Associate Professor Rachel Codd and Associate Professor Elena Bagley have each been awarded a Faculty of Medicine Accelerator Grant. The Accelerator scheme has been designed to provide support to mid-career teaching and research academics within the Sydney Medical School.For more information, please follow the link.

Congratulations to Dr. Kellie Charles for an Energiser Grant. The Energiser Scheme is an initiative designed to provide support to mid-career teaching and research academics within Sydney Medical School in order to assist their supervision of research degree candidates.

The University recently awarded a prestigious Thompson Fellowship to Associate Professor Margie Sunde. The Thompson Fellowships aim to promote and enhance the careers of academic women and are offered to academic and research-only women employed by the University of Sydney at levels C or D.

Emeritus Professor Basil Roufogalis was appointed Adjunct Professor at the School of Science and Health at the University of Western Sydney. He was also recently appointed as Visiting Professor at the College of Pharmacy, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. Whilst over there he attended the Canadian Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences in Vancouver, BC, Canada and gave a seminar at the College of Pharmacy in Winnipeg entitled: Ginger in Metabolic Syndrome: Creating the Evidence Base.

In addition Professor Roufogalis was Chief Guest Editor (along with Srinivas Nammi and Emanuel Strehler) on a Special Issue of the Journal of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences entitled: “Natural Products: Biochemical-Chemical Characterization, and Evidence for Therapeutic Potential” , which attracted 21 articles. Congratulations Basil!

Dr Slade Matthews recently submitted a collaborative poster titled: "High LC3C Expression Correlates with Poor Survival in Oral Cavity Squamous Cell Carcinoma Patients" by Lai, Matthews, Wilmott, Killingsworth, Caixeiro, Wykes, Samakeh, Forstner, Niles, Hong, and Lee, which has received a commendation award in the Pathologist Category at the 40th Annual Scientific Meeting of the Australasian Division of the International Academy of Pathology in Brisbane (June 2016, Abstract to be published in Pathology special edition 2017).