Discipline of Pharmacology

Discipline of Pharmacology

The Discipline of Pharmacology of the University of Sydney is the largest of its kind in Australia, with an extensive range of research programs and well equipped undergraduate teaching facilities.

Latest news & events


  • The 2016 Seminar Program is available here.
  • Our Honours booklet for 2017 is now available here

Latest news


The pharmacology postgraduate student talks and careers day on September 23rd at the Norman Gregg Lecture Theatre (Edward Ford Building 221). This day will involve a 3-minute thesis session with talks by pharmacology postgraduate students (9:00 am – 10:00 am), which will provide an opportunity for postgraduates to present their work to their peers and receive feedback and advice for future presentations.

This will be followed by a session of talks by invited speakers about careers in science (10:30 am – 1:00 pm), which is aimed at postgraduate and honours students. There will be a BBQ lunch provided from 1:00 pm at the Bosch umbrellas to give people an opportunity to meet and talk to the invited speakers. All members of the discipline of pharmacology are encouraged to attend both sessions and the BBQ lunch.

We will also be inviting 3rd year pharmacology students to attend the 3-minute thesis session. This will give 3rd year students an opportunity to see some of the work that is happening in our department, with the aim of encouraging their transition to honours in pharmacology in 2017. Click on the link for more information.

Please don’t hesitate to contact

if you have any questions.

Our own A/Prof. Renae Ryan along with A/Prof. Kirsten Black, who is the Joint Head of Discipline Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Neonatology, and Victoria Cook, a 2nd year Medical Student, have had their article The hidden curriculum in surgery says it’s not for women published in The Conversation. Keep up the good work!

Dr Tina Hinton collaborated on a book chapter that was recently published titled: Spaces enabling change: X-Lab and science education 2020. Congratulations Tina on your achievement!

Congratulations to Dr Kate Chitty for being a joint prize winner of the Peter Bancroft Prize, awarded by the Sydney Medical School, for her outstanding thesis.