Current news


The paper titled 'A decade of Australian methotrexate dosing errors' by Dr Rose Cairns, which was published last week in the Medical Journal of Australia, has attracted significant media attention. The story was picked up by The Sydney Morning Herald, ABC Online, The Australian Financial Review and Channel 7 News, among others.

Our Honours booklet for 2016 is now available here

Congratulations to Ms Sarasa Mohammadi, Mr Tariq Chohan, Ms Alaa Tulbah, Ms Sharon Davis, Ms Valentina Trotta and Mr Benjamin McIlwain on the award of their PhD degrees and Ms Jian Zhang on the award of her MPhil degree.

 Daniela Traini has been appointed as Professor this year. Congratulation Professor Daniela Traini on acquiring your new title!

Prof. Nicholas Buckley contributed to the article "The Crux of the matter: did the ABC's Catalyst program change statin use in Australia?" which won the 2015 MJA, MDA National Prize for Excellence in Medical Research, for the best research article published in the Medical Journal of Australia in the previous calendar year. (Read More)

Welcome new starter Vanessa Gysbers, our new Teaching Curriculum Support Officer for the Discipline of Pharmacology. Vanessa commenced on 30/5/16.

Congratulations to Associate Professor Daniela Traini and Associate Professor Paul Young on their recently awarded ARC Linkage Grant with the company Aradigm. Their project aims to develop nano-particulate systems based on a single platform technology that can be delivered as an aerosol, and be used for the eradication of biofilms in numerous applications, from healthcare to agriculture.

Congratulations to Dr Michael Gotsbacher  Mr Thomas Telfer and Mr Tomas Richardson-Sanchez, members of the Chemical Biology in Drug Discovery Group, on their recent acceptance to deliver oral presentations at the 10th International Biometals Symposium in Dresden, Germany in July 2016. This is one of the premier conference in metals in biology/biomedicine and is a great achievement.

Congratulations to Associate Professor Rachel Codd who has been elected as a Fellow to the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (FRACI), in recognition of eminence within the chemistry profession. We commend A/Prof Codd on her achievement.

Congratulations to Dr Wendy Imlach, who was recently awarded the Rolf Edgar Lake Research Fellowship by the Sydney Medical School in January 2016.  The Rolf Edgar Lake Postdoctoral Fellowship was established in 1978 to encourage and promote postdoctoral research within the Sydney Medical School at the University of Sydney. This fellowship provides three years of funding.

Congratulations to Emeritus Professor Graham Johnston, who was recently elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of New South Wales.

Dr Kate Chitty recently contributed to an article posted in the Drug and Alcohol Dependence. To find out more please click and follow this link.