siva_celldeath2 Nazanin_Image2 Discipline of Physiology

Discipline of Physiology

The Discipline of Physiology is part of the School of Medical Sciences and is the focus of teaching and research in the physiological sciences at The University of Sydney.

Its research staff and students are located primarily at the Camperdown Campus of the University, in the Anderson Stuart Building and in the Medical Foundation Building. Academics in the discipline teach undergraduate programs in the Faculty of Science, and the Graduate Medical Program.

The research interests of the faculty span a broad range of topics in the physiological sciences, with particular research focus on neuroscience, cardiovascular physiology, reproductive physiology, and endocrine function. Techniques used in our laboratories include imaging, electrophysiology, molecular biology, and human and animal behaviour.

Latest news & events

Prof Phil Poronnik has been award a Payne-Scott Professorial Distinction

Dr Phil Poronnik
Phil Poronnik has been award an inaugural Payne-Scott Professorial Distinction, which recognises outstanding leaders in research and education. It acknowledges our true leaders in research and education – those whose work is not only recognised nationally and internationally, but who at the same time are helping to develop the careers of others, contributing to educational reform and innovation, and playing a major role in community engagement and public debate.

This distinction has been named for Ruby Payne-Scott, just the third woman to graduate in physics from the University and who made a fundamental contribution to the development of radio astronomy nationally and internationally.

NHMRC of an RD Wright Career Development Biomedical Fellowship

Dr Susanna Park
Dr Susanna Park has been awarded the NHMRC of an RD Wright Career Development Biomedical Fellowship to her for "Assessment strategies, Treatments and Risk Factors in Neuropathy and Neuromuscular disease" for the period 2018 to 2021.

news archives