siva_celldeath2 Nazanin_Image2 Discipline of Physiology

Discipline of Physiology

The Discipline of Physiology is part of the School of Medical Sciences and is the focus of teaching and research in the physiological sciences at The University of Sydney.

Its research staff and students are located primarily at the Camperdown Campus of the University, in the Anderson Stuart Building and in the Medical Foundation Building. Academics in the discipline teach undergraduate programs in the Faculty of Science, and the Graduate Medical Program.

The research interests of the faculty span a broad range of topics in the physiological sciences, with particular research focus on neuroscience, cardiovascular physiology, reproductive physiology, and endocrine function. Techniques used in our laboratories include imaging, electrophysiology, molecular biology, and human and animal behaviour.

Latest news & events

Dr Daniel Johnstone appointed to the NHMRC Research Committee

Dr Dr Daniel Johnstone
Congratulations to Dr Daniel Johnstone, past-president of the Australian Society for Medical Research, who has been appointed to the NHMRC Research Committee for the next 3 years. This is a prestigious appointment at a time of great change for the NHMRC. The NHMRC Research Committee awards grants on the basis of scientific quality as judged by peer-review across the entire spectrum of health, medical and public health research and provides research support through a variety of mechanisms. The key functions of Research Committee include making recommendations on the application and monitoring of the Medical Research Endowment Account (MREA) and advising on matters relating to medical research and public health research, including the quality and scope of such research in Australia. It comprises 16 members from across Australia with demonstrated leadership and extensive experience in various fields of health and medical research.

Dr Susanna Park awarded a SOAR Fellowship

Dr Susanna Park
Congratulations to Dr Susanna Park on the award of a SOAR Fellowship. The SOAR Fellowships support outstanding researchers at the University of Sydney to take the next step in their careers. The two-year program includes $50,000 per annum to bolster their research, innovation and development plans, as well as dedicated research development support and a structured mentoring program.

Dr Susanna Park’s current research program is targeted to develop objective tools to measure nerve damage in chemotherapy-treated patients, identify sensitive markers to identify patients at risk of long-term nerve damage, and provide a platform for the development of clinical trials of neuroprotective strategies.

Through the SOAR, she plans to develop and implement non-invasive technologies to assess patient function in cancer survivors. She’ll also host an inaugural Neurological Complications of Cancer workshop, to accelerate translation of research techniques into clinical trials.

Sydney Medical Program competed in the inaugural Australian Physiology Competition

Dr Sharon Herkes and Prof Philip Poronnik
On the 24th of March this year, a team of five second year students in the Sydney Medical Program competed in the inaugural Australian Physiology Competition, hosted by the University of New South Wales. The team, consisting of Gabriel Gregory, Theodore Iannuzzi, Jason Luong, Lisa Wang, and Joshua Xu, was questioned on a wide range of physiology in both a written test, consisting of 120 true or false questions, and a knock-out oral quiz. In the written test, two of the students placed in the top three, with Gabriel placing third and Theodore placing first. Furthermore, the team also emerged victorious in the oral quiz, fending off fifteen other teams from a number of the other medical schools in Sydney, as well as one team that flew in from the University of Melbourne.

Dr Sharon Herkes and Prof Philip Poronnik
As an award for their success in the Australian competition, the team received private funding to compete in the 16th Inter Medical School Physiology Quiz, hosted by the University of Malaya in Kuala Lumpur on the 15th and 16th of August. This competition put the team head-to-head against teams from 104 universities in 26 countries, including two more Australian teams from the Universities of Melbourne and New South Wales. The competition was presided over by the charismatic Prof. Cheng Hwee Ming, with special guests Prof. Susan Wray and Prof. David Eisner coming from the UK to deliver lectures to the academics accompanying the teams and to assist in the adjudication of the competition. On the first day the team completed a written test, performing well enough to earn the award for the best newcomer team and a place in the oral rounds the next day, which were limited to 48 teams. Progressing through the oral rounds, the team reached the final, tying for second place with the Fourth Military Medical University from China, and being beaten by the University of Chulalongkorn from Thailand by a single point.

news archives