Centres of Research Excellence

The National Health and Medical Research Council Centres of Research Excellence (CREs) provide support for teams of researchers to pursue collaborative research and develop capacity in clinical, population health and health services research.

NHMRC CREs at the Sydney Medical School

Within the Sydney Medical School there are a number of CREs which support the conduct and development of innovative, high quality and collaborative research:

Centre Name Chief Investigator

Centre of Research Excellence in Diabetic Retinopathy - Closing the Loop for Diabetic Eye Care and Complication Risk Mitigation

Professor Anthony Keech

Centre of Research Excellence for Optimising Early Interventions for Young People with Emerging Mood Disorder

Professor Ian Hickie

Centre of Research Excellence for Translational Sleep and Circadian Neurobiology

Professor Ron Grunstein

Centre of Research Excellence for Tuberculosis Control: From Discovery to Public Health Practice and Policy

Professor Warwick Britton

Centre of Research Excellence for Air Quality and Health Research and Evaluation 

Professor Guy Marks

Centre of Research Excellence in Critical Infectious Diseases

Professor John Iredell

Centre of Research Excellence in Population Health at the Clinical Interface: Pregnancy and Childbirth 

Professor Christine Roberts

Centre of Research Excellence in the Early Prevention of Obesity in Childhood

Professor Louise Baur

Centre of Research Excellence in Protecting the Public from Emerging Infectious Diseases

Professor Tania Sorrell

Centre of Research Excellence in Creating Sustainable Healthcare: Ensuring New Diagnostics Avoid Harms, Improve Outcomes, and Direct Resources Wisely

Professor Alexandra Barratt

Centre of Research Excellence in Pulmonary Fibrosis

Associate Professor Tamera Corte