Members of the Discipline of Surgery

The Discipline of Surgery within Sydney Medical School of the University of Sydney is one of the largest surgical departments in Australia. It encompasses the teaching hospitals and affiliated hospitals within seven clinical schools:

  • Royal Prince Alfred Hospital is the main hospital for the Central Clinical School,
  • Concord Hospital for the Concord Clinical School,
  • Royal North Shore Hospital for the Northern Clinical School,
  • Nepean Hospital for the Nepean Clinical School,
  • Westmead Hospital for the Western Clinical School, and
  • Dubbo Base Hospital and Orange Health Service for the School of Rural Health.
  • Sydney Adventist Hospital (SAN)

There are more than 100 members across the Clinical Schools who are well integrated into hospital activities. Our members are involved in teaching, research, administration and delivery of clinical services, working through their Clinical School and Associate Dean and many occupy leadership roles within the New South Wales Area Health Services structure. Each Clinical School has a mix of University appointed academic surgeons, Area Health Service appointments conjoint with the University and Staff Specialists and Visiting Medical Officers awarded Clinical Academic Titles by the University.

Teaching hospitals





Concord Repatriation General Hospital

Nepean Hospital

Royal North Shore Hospital

Royal Prince Alfred Hospital





Westmead Hospital

The Children's Hospital at Westmead

Dubbo Private Hospital
Dudley Private Hospital, Orange
Orange Day Surgery Centre

 Sydney Adventist Hospital

Affiliated teaching hospitals:

  • North Shore Private Hospital
  • Strathfield Private Hospital
  • Sydney Hospital & Sydney Eye Hospital
  • Westmead Private Hospital
  • The Seventh Day Adventist Hospital