People

Teaching and Research Staff

 Name

 Contact information

 Research Interests

Prof Elaine Baker

Director MSI

elaine.baker@sydney.edu.au

Blue Carbon, Ocean Governance and geological resources, global environment.

The Big Sargassum Pile Up

Dr Joy Becker

joy.becker@sydney.edu.au

Production-limiting infectious diseases affecting global aquaculture.

Prof Gavin Birch

gavin.birch@sydney.edu.au

Human-induced change and biological risk posed by contaminants in estuarine/harbour sediments: Sydney Harbour/estuary (Australia)

Dr Michelle Blewitt

michelle.blewitt@sydney.edu.au

Marine mammal research

Dr Elisa Bone

elisa.bone@sydney.edu.au

Billion Oyster Project, Educational Designer University of Sydney

Dr Eleanor Bruce

eleanor.bruce@sydney.edu.au

Integrated Geospatial Management System Sydney Harbor Area

Prof Maria Byrne

maria.byrne@sydney.edu.au

Impacts of ocean acidification on the interaction between tropical sea cucumbers, sediment biota and lagoon carbonate dynamics - direct and indirect effects of high CO2

Prof Doug Cato

doug.cato@sydney.edu.au

The Behavioural Response of Australian Humpback Whales to Seismic Surveys (BRAHSS)

A/Prof Peter Cowell

peter.cowell@sydney.edu.au

Geomorphology of coasts and continental shelves

Dr Navneet Dhand

navneet.dhand@sydney.edu.au

The use of epidemiological and statistical tools to improve public health and to solve intricate problems confronting animal industries

Dr Olivia Evans

olivia.evans@sydney.edu.au

Pacific Oyster Mortality Syndrome – closing knowledge gaps to continue farming Crassostrea gigas in Australia.

Dr Renata Ferrari Legorreta

renata.ferrari@sydney.edu.au

3D Reefs Project

A/Prof Will Figueira

will.figueira@sydney.edu.au

 

Spatial Ecology of Marine Ecosystems, Marine Resource Management & Conservation, Population Ecology of Marine Fish (Temperate-Tropical)

Dr Daniel Harrison

daniel.harrison@sydney.edu.au

Marine Ecological Restoration Through Urban Redevelopment

Dr Paul Hick

paul.hick@sydney.edu.au

Pacific Oyster Mortality Syndrome

Dr Tom Hubble

tom.hubble@sydney.edu.au

Can submarine landslides trigger tsunamis?

Dr Kate Johnson 

kate.johnston@sydney.edu.au

Sustaining More Than Fish: Tradition and transformation in environmental conflicts, analysed the discursive and material relationship between culture and sustainability through the case study of tuna and La Tonnara - a tuna trap fishery used for centuries in Southern Italy

Prof Ian Jones

ian.jones@sydney.edu.au

Saving the Great Barrier Reef and Fertilising the ocean to help food security

Prof Peter Lay

peter.lay@sydney.edu.au

Vibrational Spectroscopic Analysis of Microplastics and Microfibres in Fish

Dr Gabriel Machovsky-Capuska

g.machovsky@sydney.edu.au

Nutritional Ecology of Marine Predators: challenges and opportunities

Dr Bree Morgan

bree.morgan@sydney.edu.au

The mobility, bioavailability and toxicity of trace metals in natural and disturbed coastal systems.

Dr  Phil  Mulhearn

phil.mulhearn@sydney.edu.au

Changing water depths in Sydney Harbour and History of the charting/surveying of major NSW estuaries and the accuracy of early charts.

Prof Dietmar Müller

dietmar.muller@sydney.edu.au

Marine geophysics and geodynamics, plate tectonics. Machine Learning Approaches to Analysing Global Sea Surface and Seafloor Data

Prof Elspeth Probyn

elspeth.probyn@sydney.edu.au

Eating the Ocean - communicating complexity

Dr Maria Seton

maria.seton@sydney.edu.au

Zealandia: Earth’s Hidden Continent

Prof Tim Stephens

Deputy Director MSI

tim.stephens@sydney.edu.au

Ocean Governance in the Anthropocene – The Carbonation Challenge

Edwina Tanner

Coordintore of the MSI

edwina.tanner@sydney.edu.au

Oceanography and global warming (CO2 emissions)

Dr Emma Thompson

e.thompson@sydney.edu.au

Future Proofing the Sydney Rock Oyster

A/Prof Ana Vila-Concejo

ana.vilaconcejo@sydney.edu.au

Geocoastal research at the University of Sydney

Dr Ashley Ward

ashley.ward@sydney.edu.au

Behavioural ecology of fish

A/Prof Jody Webster

jody.webster@sydney.edu.au

Spur and Groove Evolution, Formation and Paleoclimate: Great Barrier Reef and French Polynesia

Prof Richard Whittington

richard.whittington@sydney.edu.au

Aquatic Animal Health and Environmental Immunology

Prof Stefan Williams

stefan.williams@sydney.edu.au

Marine Systems at the Australian Centre for Field Robotics (navigation and mapping, clustering and classification, novel sensing, survey designs and platform designs)

Honorary Associates

Associate Professor Gavin Birch
Associate Professor Peter Cowell
Dr Adrienne Grant
Associate Professor Roslind Hinde
Adjunct Professor Ian SF Jones
Associate Professor Jock Keene
Professor Tony Larkum
Dr John Runcie

MSI Director

MSI Deputy Director

MSI Coordinator

Marine Geoscience Undergraduate Advisor

Marine Biology Undergraduate Advisor

Marine Science Postgraduate Advisor

Marine Science Postgraduate Coursework Advisor

Director of One Tree Island Research Station

Deputy Director of One Tree Island Research Station

Web / Publicity