Soft-Nanomaterials Symposium 2017: Self-Assembly

Monday 06 February 2017
9.30am - 5.00pm
Messel Lecture Theatre
Sydney Nanoscience Hub, A31
Physics Road, University of Sydney

The Molecular Nanoscience Domain of the Sydney Nano Institute (SNI) is proud to announce the inaugural Symposium on Soft Nanomaterials. The 2017 Symposium on Self-Assembly, partially co-sponsored by the School Chemistry and the Chemistry Foundation, brings together world leading researchers in soft nanomaterials and molecular self-assembly. Topics of interest include experimental and theoretical work on: soft matter, molecular self-assembly, nanostructured interfaces and surfaces, and soft nanoparticles. The symposium is hosted by A/Prof Chiara Neto, School of Chemistry, Molecular Nanoscience Domain Leader, AINST, University of Sydney.


Registration for catering purposes closes on 30 January 2017. Please RSVP to , Project Officer for Sydney Nano.

Invited speakers

  • Professor Kate Stebe, University of Pennsylvania, USA; Title: Colloids in Soft Matter: When deformation fields act like electric fields
  • Professor Doris Vollmer, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz; Title: Motion of drops on lubricant infused surfaces
  • Professor Helmuth Möhwald, Max Plank Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Golm; Title: Nanocontainers for Materials- and Biosciences.


Time Activity
9.30am Registration and refreshments - Messel Foyer
9.50am Welcome and introduction - A/Prof Chiara Neto
10.00am Nanocontainers for materials and biosciences - Prof Helmuth Möhwald  
10.40am Stable nanoscale patterning of bioactive molecules on surfaces through energetic ion activation – Prof Marcela Bilek, School of Physics
11.00am DNA origami: molecular pegboards assembled from DNA – Dr Shelley Wickham, School of Chemistry and School of Physics
11.20am Bioinspired liposome-based smart sensors – Dr Rona Chandrawati – School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 
11.40am Soft nanomaterials based on cylindrical polymer brushes – Dr Markus Muellner, School of Chemistry
12.00pm Lunch - Messel Foyer
1.00pm Motion of drops on lubricant infused surfaces – Prof Doris Vollmer
1.40pm Tethered-liquid perfluorocarbon coatings for the prevention of medical device thrombosis – Dr Anna Waterhouse, Charles Perkins Centre
2.00pm The role of engineers in food, health and medicine – Prof Fariba Dehghani, School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
2.20pm TBA – School of Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering – A/Prof Ahmad Jabbarazadeh
2.40pm Tuning nanoparticle interactions and assembly – Asaph Wildmer-Cooper, School of Chemistry
3.00pm Peptides with a polymer coat: self-assembled nanotubes – Kate Jolliffe, School of Chemistry
3.20pm Colloids in soft matter: when deformation fields act like electric fields – Kate Stebe
4.00pm Closing remarks
4.10pm Refreshments
5.00pm Close of symposium