University Chancellor and academics among the AFR's 100 Women of Influence

11 October 2013

University of Sydney Chancellor Belinda Hutchison was chosen by an eminent judging panel from more than 500 entrants as one of the recipients of the Australian Financial Review and Westpac Group 100 Women of Influence awards.
University of Sydney Chancellor Belinda Hutchison was chosen by an eminent judging panel from more than 500 entrants as one of the recipients of the Australian Financial Review and Westpac Group 100 Women of Influence awards.

The University of Sydney Chancellor and three members of the University's academic community have been named among Australia's most influential women as finalists in the Australian Financial Review and Westpac Group 100 Women of Influence awards.

Chancellor Belinda Hutchinson, Professor Marian Baird (University of Sydney Business School), Dr Bidda Jones (Honorary Lecturer, Faculty of Veterinary Science) and Dr Susan Pond (Adjunct Professor, United States Studies Centre) were selected by an eminent judging panel from more than 500 entrants.

The awards recognise the depth of female leadership talent across Australia, covering 10 categories: board/management, innovation, public policy, business entrepreneur, diversity, young leader, global, social enterprise, not for profit/philanthropy and local/regional.

Dr Michael Spence, Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the University of Sydney said the inclusion of four members of the University community was a significant honour.

"We're delighted that the panel has acknowledged these four brilliant women from the University of Sydney, and I congratulate them on the well-deserved recognition of their leadership in the wider community."

The 100 finalists will attend a gala dinner in Sydney on October 17, where Westpac Chief Executive Gail Kelly and Fairfax Media Chief Gregory Hywood will announce the 10 category winners and overall 2013 Woman of Influence.

Professor Belinda Hutchinson, Chancellor of the University of Sydney: finalist in the board/management category

Company director Belinda Hutchinson AM was appointed the 18th Chancellor of the University of Sydney in February 2013.

A graduate of the University of Sydney, Ms Hutchinson is also Chair of QBE Insurance Group, a director of St Vincent's Health Australia, AGL Energy, the Salvation Army Eastern Territory Advisory Board, Australian Philanthropic Services, NSW State Library Foundation, and a member of the Federal Government Financial Services Advisory Council. She is also the President of Chief Executive Women, a member-based organisation comprising of 240 of Australia's women leaders.

Ms Hutchinson was previously an executive director of Macquarie Group where she was the head of Macquarie Equity Capital Markets. Prior to this she was a vice president of Citibank in project and corporate finance and was the head of the Financial Institutions Group in Australia. She began her career working for Andersen Consulting in Australia and the USA. She has also served on the boards of Telstra Corporation, Coles Myer, Crane Group, Energy Australia, TAB, Snowy Hydro Trading and Sydney Water.

Ms Hutchinson holds a Bachelor of Economics from the University of Sydney and was a recipient of a University Alumni Award in 2012.

Professor Marian Baird, University of Sydney Business School: finalist in the public policy category

Professor Marian Baird is Professor of Employment Relations, Acting Chair of the Discipline of Work and Organisational Studies and Director of the Women and Work Research Group at the University of Sydney Business School. Marian is co-editor of the Journal of Industrial Relations and is on the editorial board of the Australian Bulletin of Labour and the international journal, Community, Work and Family. She is a Fellow of the University of Sydney Senate, a member of the Women's College Council and on the Research Committee of the Diversity Council of Australia.

Professor Baird is one of Australia's leading researchers in the fields of women, work and family. She has received a number of Australian Research Council and federal and state government grants to study maternity and parental leave, flexibility for working parents, women and the global financial crisis, mature age workers and low paid workers, gender equitable organisational change and work and family in regional Australia. She is widely published in Australia and internationally.

Dr Bidda Jones, Honorary Lecturer, Faculty of Veterinary Science: finalist in the innovation category

Dr Bidda Jones is Chief Scientist of the RSPCA and an Honorary Lecturer in the Faculty of Veterinary Science. She is recognised for her continued work to address the animal welfare problems with the live export trade and to improve the humaneness of pest animal control.

After joining RSPCA Australia in 1997, Dr Jones was appointed Chief Scientist in 2006 and has overseen its science and policy team ever since.

Dr Jones has been a driving force in ensuring the science of animal welfare is accessible to the public through innovative projects such as the online RSPCA Knowledgebase, which now sees over 1.3 million visitors annually.

Dr Susan Pond, Adjunct Professor, United States Studies Centre: finalist in the innovation category

Dr Susan Pond AM FTSE is Chair of the Australian Initiative for Sustainable Aviation Fuels and Adjunct Professor at the United States Studies Centre at the University of Sydney.

Her interests include the transition of the transportation sector to alternative fuels; the market sectors driving demand for advanced biofuels; and the policy settings to enable development of the integrated systems and multiple product and business opportunities for the advanced biofuels industry.

Dr Pond is also Chair of the Australian Government's Clean Technology Innovation Committee, Vice President of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and Board Member of the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation and Biotron Ltd.

She has previously held executive positions in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industry, most recently as Chairman and Managing Director of Johnson & Johnson Research Pty Limited and Chairman of the Australian biotechnology industry organisation, AusBiotech.

Follow University of Sydney Media on Twitter

Media enquiries: Katie Szittner, 02 9351 2261, 0478 316 809,