New Senate Fellows elected

15 November 2013

The Chancellor of the University of Sydney, Ms Belinda Hutchinson AM, has welcomed the results of the 2013 Senate election.

A postal ballot of all graduates of the University was held during November to elect five Fellows of Senate for a four year term.

The Senate, as the University's governing body plays an important role in the governance of the University and in shaping its future to ensure it continues to stand amongst the great universities of the world.

Approximately 12,000 alumni participated in the ballot and the following candidates were elected as new Senate Fellows:

  • Kate McClymont
  • Verity Firth
  • Peter FitzSimons
  • Andrew West
  • Catriona Menzies-Pike

The Chancellor said "The University is honoured to have people of such calibre elected to its governing body."

"We are proud of our more than 280,000 alumni worldwide, many of whom are inspirational leaders in numerous fields. Our alumni care a great deal about the University of Sydney and seek to play an active role in its future."

"We believe the number and calibre of people who wish to serve on our Senate is a testament to our alumni's strong ongoing relationship with and commitment to the University," Ms Hutchinson said.

"I am delighted to welcome these new (and re-elected) members to our Senate today and look forward to their contribution as we grow our capacity as a world-leading higher education and research university."

A full list of candidates who contested the ballot is available on the Senate website.

Follow University of Sydney Media on Twitter

Media enquiries: Katie Szittner, 02 9351 2261, 0478 316 809,