Sydney China Business Forum 2011

29 November 2011

The Sydney China Business Forum is a new international leaders forum addressing global and strategic China business issues of importance to Australia. The Sydney China Business Forum brings together Australian and Chinese thought leaders and decision makers to discuss emerging opportunities, challenges and to devise strategic responses.
It is presented by the University of Sydney China Studies Centre, which boasts one of the world's most comprehensive teams of researchers working in partnership with China across all disciplines, with a key focus on business development, emerging markets and business opportunities, in partnership with China's Caixin, a leading business media group whose Chief Editor is the world famous Hu Shuli.

The Sydney China Business Forum will feature interactive panel discussions addressing trade and investment strategies, joint finance of Australian resources infrastructure, Chinese outward investment, and internationalisation of the Chinese RMB.
Our speakers at the forum are thought leaders and decision-makers from government, business, finance, industry and Chinese media. They include:

  • Associate Professor Vivienne Bath - Associate Dean, University of Sydney Law School
  • Ian Bauert - Managing Director, Rio Tinto China
  • Nicholas Curtis AM - Founding Partner and Chairman, Riverstone Advisory
  • John Denton - Partner and CEO, Corrs, Chambers Westgarth
  • Nicholas Davis - Associate Director, World Economic Forum
  • The Hon Craig Emerson MP - Minister for Trade, Australia
  • Professor Alex Frino - CEO, University of Sydney Capital Markets
  • Professor Geoff Garrett - CEO, University of Sydney US Studies Centre
  • Professor David Goodman - Director, University of Sydney China Studies Centre
  • Professor Hans Hendrischke - Executive Chairman, University of Sydney China Studies Centre
  • The Hon Joe Hockey MP - Shadow Treasurer, Australia
  • Professor Yiping Huang - Managing Director & Chief Economist, Emerging Asia, Barclays Capital
  • Jason Yat-Sen Li - CEO of Yatsen Associates and Vice-Chair of the Australia-China Chamber of Commerce in Beijing
  • David Olsson - Partner, Mallesons Stephen Jacques
  • Dr John Phillips AO - Chair of the Foreign Investment Review Board, Australia
  • Professor Geoff Raby - Former Australian ambassador to China (until August 2011), Co-Chairman, Corrs Chambers Westgarth China Group; Professorial Fellow, Monash University
  • Hu Shuli - Editor-in-Chief of Caixin Media, Century Weekly and China Reform
  • The Hon Warwick Smith AM - Chairman, ANZ Bank NSW and ACT
  • The Hon Wayne Swan MP - Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer of Australia
  • The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP - Shadow Minister for Communications and Broadband
  • Dr Michael Wesley - Executive Director, Lowy Institute
  • Geoff Wilson - CEO, KPMG Australia
  • Professor Chenggang Xu - Professor of Economics, Hong Kong University
  • Professor Yongda Yu - Director Tsinghua University Institute for International Strategy and Development
  • Chen Zeng - Head of Australian Office, CITIC Group


Please note, ticket price includes an invitation to the opening cocktail reception at Government House on Monday 28 November, as well as full-day entry to the forum at Customs House on Tuesday 29 November.

Time: 9:00am-5:00pm

Location: Barnet Long Room, Customs House, Sydney

Cost: $510 (includes cocktail reception on 28 November)

Contact: Zoe Morrison

Phone: (02) 9351 3324

Email: 3f40346c054042262231083c70014e005e5c4146123627452c0c

More info: