Prof Bruce Sutton has been shortlisted for the 2010 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes

27 July 2010

The shortlist of scientific excellence recognises the year's most innovative and influential scientists, together with the country's top science communicators and teachers.

In its 21st year, the annual celebration, dubbed the "Oscars of Australian science" offers 20 awards with total prize money of $190,000.

New prizes for this year include Early Career Research, Outstanding Medical Research Translation, Innovation in Computer Science, and Advancement of Climate Change Knowledge.

Winners will be announced at the annual Award Dinner to be held on 17 August 2010. It is an event which has become the largest national celebration of the achievements of Australian science.

One of the eight Sydney Academics is Professor Bruce Sutton from our Faculty together with Associate Professor Greg Leslie, University of New South Wales are finalists for the Professor Peter Cullen Eureka Prize for Water Research and Innovation for developing a low energy system for irrigating with saline water. By integrating reverse osmosis membranes into drip irrigation lines, they have developed a very efficient system for farmers to grow crops using saline water, including groundwater, without damaging the soil.

Contact: Ms Robyn Turner

Phone: 02 8627 1003

Email: 18562f4c56672d33102c031e334a1c23031436644a554440292c0b