2nd place overall for our students at 2010 Australian University Crops Competition.

3 November 2010

Over an intensive three days, competitors' skills were tested in the areas of seed identification, pulses, grain grading, business strategy, live crop identification, weed and foliar disease identification, yield potential and production practices.

Emma Robinson, an agronomist with Landmark in Temora and a Competition judge, says the Competition is a fantastic stepping stone for students entering the commercial world of agriculture.

The University of Sydney was in second place overall for the crops competition.This is based on the scores of the 3 highest scoring individuals from each University.Charles Sturt University came in first place on home soil.The University of Adelaide did not get a score as they entered only 2 participants. This year, La Trobe University (the winning team in 2009), the University of New England (UNE) and Curtin University (Muresk) did not have any students in the top 10 scorers.

Sam Malfroy (BHortSc student) was the 4th highest scorer in the competition and has won a 4-day International Crops Industry Study Tour (inclusive of airfares, accommodation, hosted tours and professional development). The top 5 scorers in the competition win an international crops industry study trip.Hence, the University of Sydney has one student (Sam Malfroy) in the top five scorers and three students (Sam Malfroy, Briony Green, and Sally Ormiston) in the top ten scorers.The 12 student participating from our Faculty were: Jack Collins, Alexandra Keith, Rebecca Thistlethwaite, Carly Marie Housley, Sally Ormiston, Briony Young,Monica Suann, Ashley Zamek, Briony Green,Sebastian Campbell, Samuel Frank Malfroy and Megan Davies. Coached by Dr Daniel Tan and Ben Azzopardi.

The top five placegetters were:

Winner: Cindy Martin, (Ceduna) University of Adelaide

Runner Up: Andrew Gillett, (Jerilderie) Charles Sturt University, Wagga Wagga

Third: Max Baka-Koch, (Adelaide Hills) University of Adelaide

Fourth: Samuel Malfroy, (Sydney) University of Sydney

Fifth: Dwayne Schubert, (Mt George) Charles Sturt University, Wagga Wagga

GGA Chairman, John Eastburn said the competitors were enthusiastic and keen to learn more about cropping, both through the components of the Competition and by networking with the other competitors.

Contact: Dr Daniel Tan

Phone: 02 8627 1052

Email: 280e3d244a5f57113216034b0b15221d186d2237076a1123