Call for honorary award nominations

15 March 2014


Each year, the University of Sydney recognises exceptional achievement by conferring an honorary degree and outstanding service to the University by awarding the title of Honorary Fellow of the University.

Nominations for the 2015 honorary degrees and honorary fellowships  are now invited,  and will be accepted by the Senate until 30 April 2014.

Honorary degrees have been conferred by the University of Sydney since 1952, when His Excellency Lieutenant-General Sir John Northcott KCMG CB MVO, Governor of NSW and Official Visitor to the University 1946-52, received a Doctor of Letters honoris causa. Since then, honorary degrees have been awarded to Dame Joan Sutherland AC DBE, Her Excellency Quentin Bryce AC, and one of Sydney College of the Arts' most successful graduates, Marc Newson.

The title of Honorary Fellow of the University has been awarded since 1985, and is awarded to individuals who have supported the interests and welfare of the University, promoted its academic purposes, fostered links between it and other institutions, enlarged education opportunities within it for people with limited prospects and assisted with resources.

Nominations addressing the relevant criteria need to be sent to David Pacey, Acting Secretary to Senate, by 30 April 2014. Details regarding eligibility to be nominated, the selection criteria and preparing/submitting nominations are available at the  honorary awards website.