Equity Fellowships announced

6 November 2013

Equity Fellowship recipients
Pictured (L-R): Chiara Neto, Mary Myerscough, Janette Bobis,
Jill Trewhella (DVCR), Eleanor Cowan, Maree Abbott and Cathy Leamey.

The recipients of the 2014 University of Sydney Equity Fellowships have been announced, with eight extraordinary academics being named at a ceremony with Professor Jill Trewhella, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research). The Equity Fellowships, a joint initiative between the DVC(R) and the Equity and Diversity Strategy Centre are designed to promote equity and diversity at the University of Sydney.

Recipients of the Brown Fellowship 2014 and their project focus:

  1. Dr Maree Abbott - Understanding and treating cognitive behavioural factors maintaining anxiety disorders
  2. Dr Elly Cowan - History in crisis: writing the Roman revolution 44b.c.-a.d. 30: case study, Velleius Paterculus
  3. Dr Catherine Leamey - High resolution imaging of brain activity
  4. Dr Chiara Neto - Micropatterned Polymer Coatings for the capture of water from the atmosphere

Recipients of the Thompson Fellowship 2014 and their project focus:

  1. Dr Elena Bagley - Endogenous opioids and anxiety
  2. Dr Janette Bobis - Strengthening the evidence-base in support of ambitious teaching and learning in mathematics
  3. Associate Professor Ann Elias - Useless Beauty: Flowers, art, and modern European Australia
  4. Associate Professor Mary Myerscough - Mathematical models for the formation of atherosclerotic plaques