Academics Achieve Shortlisting for 2014 NSW Premier's History Awards

25 August 2014

NSW Premier, Mike Baird has announced the shortlist for the 2014 NSW Premier’s History Awards with two academics from the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences featuring in the list.

Over 150 entries were considered for the awards with 15 shortlisted across five different prize categories.

In the General History prize category, Professor Paul Giles from the Department of English in the School of Letters, Arts and Media has been shortlisted with his recent book Antipodean America: Australasia and the Constitution of U.S. Literature.

Judges praised Professor Giles’ book, which covers more than two hundred years of Australian and United States literary and cultural history and suggests that Australasian culture has significantly influenced the work of major American writers, from Benjamin Franklin to Raymond Chandler. The judges remarked on how “this study constitutes a huge cauldron of ideas about Australasian and more significantly about American literature” and how it is “a surprising but tenaciously and convincingly argued thesis.”

In the Multimedia History prize category, Professor Iain McCalman from the Department of History in the School of Philosophical and Historical Enquiry has been shortlisted for his highly acclaimed book The Reef.
Professor McCalman has been innovative in taking his book to the next level and developing a website to further tell stories of the histories of people and place of the Great Barrier Reef region. This includes video, images, and extended content. It also entwines these in a refreshing and accessible website.
The Reef was also commended by the Fellowship of Academic Writers and featured at the 2014 Sydney Writers’ Festival. The website created by Professor McCalman can be viewed here:
The history of the awards dates back to 1997 when they were presented to honour distinguished achievement in history.
The winners of the awards will be announced at a reception at the State Library of NSW on 5th September as part of NSW History Week.

For further information on the awards, visit: