Experts elected to the Australian Academy of the Humanities

21 November 2017

Honour for achievement in the humanities.

Four University of Sydney academics have been recognised for their excellence in research and teaching across the arts and social sciences following their appointment as fellows of the Australian Academy of the Humanities.

Professor Gerard Goggin, Professor Yingjie Guo, Professor Yixu Lu and Professor Kirsten McKenzie will join the 600-member-strong Fellowship that comprises leading experts across the full spectrum of arts, literature, law, history, languages, media and communications.

Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Professor Annamarie Jagose, said the appointments recognise our academics’ status as thought leaders in their areas of study.

“Election as a fellow to the Australian Academy of the Humanities is the outcome of a rigorous process of peer nomination and assessment,” said Professor Jagose.

“To have four of this year’s 23 newly elected fellows in our Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences is a wonderful recognition of our research strength across a diverse range of disciplines.”

Honorary Associate Professor Dexter Hoyos from the Department of Classics and Ancient History has also been elected as a Fellow.

President of the Academy, Professor Joy Damousi FASSA FAHA, acknowledged the importance of the research by Australian Academy of the Humanities members.
“I am delighted to welcome our new fellows, elected in recognition of their outstanding scholarship and practice in the humanities disciplines,” said Professor Damousi.

“Their expertise is central to our capacity to understand and engage with cultures and communities both in Australia and around the world.”

The Australian Academy of the Humanities is one of Australia’s four Learned Academies and seeks to promote excellence in humanities across schools, university, industry and public life.

The Academy was established by Royal Charter in 1969 along with the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering and the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia.