Professor Robyn Ewing receives Australia Day honour

29 January 2015

The faculty would like to congratulate Professor Robyn Ewing who has been made a Member (AM) in General Division of the Order of Australia. Professor Ewing was among this week's Australia Day honours recipients. The honour was "for significant service to tertiary education through academic and administrative roles, to professional organisations, and to the arts".

In addition to being Professor of Teacher Education and the Arts at the University of Sydney, Professor Ewing is also a board member of the Australian Film Television and Radio School, and Vice President of Sydney Story Factory, as well as president of the Australian Literacy Educators' Association. She was president of the Primary English Teachers Association from 2001-2006 and a driving force behind the introduction of the Master of Teaching degree at the University, superseding the Diploma of Education. In 2012, Professor Ewing was presented with the Lady Cutler Award by the Children's Book Council of Australia (NSW) for distinguished service to children's literature.

Dean of the Faculty of Education and Social Work Professor Diane Mayer said the Order of Australia citation was appropriate recognition of Professor Ewing's tireless leadership and advocacy in education and the arts.

"It is wonderful to see Robyn's work acknowledged with this very prestigious award. We are all very proud to call her our colleague."