Alumni receive Australia Day Honours

3 February 2017

A number of our alumni received Australia Day Honours for 2017
A number of our alumni received Australia Day Honours for 2017

Congratulations to all members of the University of Sydney School of Education and Social Work community who have been recognised in the 2017 Australia Day Honours List for their outstanding contributions across many aspects of Australian life.

Member (AM) in the General Division

Emeritus Professor Christine Elizabeth Deer (BA ’58 DipEd ’59 DipTCPlan ’65 MTCPlan ’70)
For significant service to education as an academic and author, to professional learning associations, and to the community.

Medal (OAM) in the General Division

Mr Angelo Gavrielatos (BA ’86 DipEd(Second) ’87)
For service to industrial relations, and to educational organisation.

Mr Christopher John Hanley (BA ’76 DipEd ’77)
For service to literature, and to Indigenous education.

Ms Jacqueline Stricker-Phelps (MEd ’01) 
For service to the community, particularly to human rights and social welfare.

Mrs Margery Lola Whitehead (BSc ’48 DipEd ’49)
For service to the community through a range of volunteer roles.

Mr Philip John Yeo (BA ’61 DipEd ’62)
For service to local government, to the community of the Wingecarribee, and to education.

A full list of recipients is available on the Governor General's website.