Faculty adjunct Gleeson wins major literary medal

20 February 2012

Adjunct associate professor, distinguished alumna, and acclaimed children's author Libby Gleeson AM has been named the recipient of the Dromkeen Medal for 2011.

The Dromkeen Medal is an annual award, initiated in 1982 and presented by the Governors of the Courtney Oldmeadow Children's Literature Foundation.

It is awarded to an Australian citizen for a significant contribution to the appreciation and development of children's literature nationally. Previous winners include Graeme Base, Ivan Southall, Ruth Park and Faculty of Education and Social Work alumnus Maurice Saxby.

Adjunct Associate Professor Gleeson – who conducts guest lectures and seminars for students at the Faculty of Education and Social Work as well as professional learning workshops in schools – has won a number of awards for her books and, in 2007, was made a Member of the Order of Australia for "service to literature as an author and as an advocate for the development of literacy and learning in schools, as a mentor to young writers, and through a range of executive roles with professional literary organisations".

She has also received the Lady Cutler Award, from the Children's Book Council of Australia, NSW, for Services to Children's Literature, the Meritorious Service to Public Education Award, and was recognised with lifetime achievement award at the 2011 NSW Premier's Literary Awards.

The Dromkeen Award will be presented at the 31st annual Dromkeen Dinner, to be held at the State Library of Victoria on February 25 as part of the National Year of Reading.