Health Sciences' teachers among best in the country

21 September 2012

Two academic staff members of the Faculty of Health Sciences will receive national awards in recognition of their outstanding teaching.

In total the University of Sydney has seven academics named among the 152 winners nationally of the 2012 Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning. The citations are awarded annually by the federal government's Office for Learning and Teaching to recognise quality teaching practice and contributions towards student learning.

"Our best teachers succeed because they are driven by the passion and academic rigour to make a difference," said University of Sydney Vice-Chancellor and Principal Dr Michael Spence.

"They inspire and motivate our students to explore and push their own frontiers of knowledge.

"The University greatly values the work of our many committed teachers and the crucial role they play in contributing to the overall student experience. I congratulate all the award winners for the commitment they have shown to their students."

Faculty of Health Sciences winners are:

Professor Anita Bundy (Faculty of Health Sciences) for her 30 years of guidance and mentoring for her research students. She sees her role as 'walking the path' with her students, always looking for cues as to what help they need to go forward. She has a strong interest in researching the benefits of play for children with disabilities.

Dr Patricia McCabe (Faculty of Health Sciences) - for her innovative use of clinical cases to help her students apply theory to real situations. This allows her students to move away from looking at individual pieces of knowledge and see the whole picture. Her main research area is in treating speech impairments in children.

The citation winners receive $10,000 in prize money. The presentations for New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory will be held from 3 to 5pm on Tuesday 25 September at the Webster Theatre, the University of Sydney.

For details of all University of Sydney academic staff to be recognised visit the University website.