Sydney and Melbourne universities both claim victory at the 2012 Australian Boat Race

6 November 2012

For the third consecutive year, Sydney and Melbourne universities each claimed victory in the Australian Boat Race. The University of Melbourne's women's eight defeated their University of Sydney counterparts, whilst the Sydney men's team achieved a win by 5.3 seconds over Melbourne.

The four crews featured an impressive eight Olympians, seven of whom rowed for Australia at the London 2012 Olympic Games.

The faculty was well-represented in the race, with Bachelor of Applied Science (Ex&SpSc) students Sasha Belonogoff, India Evans and Rachael Kiel competing in their respective teams. "It was a little bit daunting giving MUBC the early advantage", said Belonogoff, "but we knew that as long as we maintained contact, they couldn't move directly in front of us. The sun was shining, the scenery was fantastic and the crowd was cheering for Sydney."

The Australian Boat Race is held annually, with the venue alternating between the Yarra River in Melbourne and Sydney Harbour.