Health Sciences' recipients of the Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Awards

5 May 2011

Staff from the Faculty of Health Sciences have been highly successful in the 2011 University of Sydney Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Awards.

The Institute for Teaching and Learning today announced the winners who will be recognised for their teaching excellence through the awarding of $10,000 and, in some cases, the opportunity to be nominated for national awards.

The selection panel for the 2011 round commented on the strong field of applications and the very strong competition for this year's awards. Applications came from across the University and included support from colleagues and students. The award winners have made major contributions to teaching excellence, both on campus and further afield.

Of the sixteen recipients in total across the University, the following colleagues from the Faculty of Health Sciences received Vice-Chancellor Teaching Awards;


Dr Roger Bourne, Discipline of Medical Radiation Sciences

Roger's aim in teaching is to foster a deep love of learning in his students. He has been very successful in this endeavour. One student said of Roger, "What a great assignment! I cannot believe any student would not enjoy the challenges you have set."


Dr Colleen Canning and the Neurological Physiotherapy Teaching Team, Discipline of Physiotherapy

This went to Dr Colleen Canning and the Neurological Physiotherapy Teaching Team for Physiotherapy eSkills. The success of the introduction of video clips, which enable physiotherapy students to take a greater control of their learning of practical skills, is evidenced by the use that students make of the resource and the overwhelmingly positive feedback received from clinical educators and academic peers.


Professor Kathryn Refshauge, Arthritis and Musculoskeletal Research Team

Professor Refshauge provides a vibrant research environment for her students. This is evident in the long term and productive research collaborations she maintains with her former students. As a result of Professor Refshauge's supervision one of her students realised "I love teaching and want to do that when I finish my PhD."


In addition, the Faculty would also like to congratulate the following staff who received Faculty of Health Sciences Learning and Teaching Awards presented at the annual Faculty of Health Sciences Awards Night.

Early Career Teaching
Mr Peter Colaguiri, Associate Lecturer in the Discipline of Physiotherapy

This award is recognition of innovative teaching to develop reflective practice in physiotherapy including learning through peer interaction; the streaming of lectures and technique videos; live case presentations and tools which enable students to undertake self-evaluation following practical examinations.

Student Nominated Teaching Award
Dr Kieron Rooney, Lecturer in the Discipline of Exercise and Sport Science

Dr Rooney's enthusiasm and dedication to the student learning experience was evidenced by the outstanding comments we received in his student's nominations. In particular many students remarked on his in-depth content knowledge and ability to teach difficult concepts such as biochemistry and physiology in a readily understood and engaging manner.