Faculty of Health Sciences Teaching Award Winners for 2011

7 December 2011

The Selection Committee for the FHS Teaching Awards met on the 21 November to determine this year's winners. After much deliberation, the following teaching staff were chosen to receive awards:

Professor Anita Bundy - Excellence in Research Higher Degree Supervision

Anita's supervisory capabilities and extensive experience with graduating large student cohorts were put to the test this year with taking-on students from other supervisors. Her reflective, systematic approach was recognised as an outstanding achievement within her supervisory role.

Dr Melanie Nguyen - Early Career Teaching

Melanie's award acknowledged a tremendous contribution to the Faculty this year, including her design and implementation of a Student Year Representative program, development of a successful mentoring program, and her interfaculty work with Nursing.

Dr Tricia McCabe - Outstanding Teaching

Tricia's application was very strong indeed, and her award reflected her innovation, outstanding leadership and skillful curriculum development throughout the year.

Dr Debra Shirley;Dr Robert Boland;Dr Leslie Nicholson;Dr Trudy Rebbeck;Mr Peter Colagiuri ( Musculoskeletal Physiotherapy Teaching Team) - Support of the Student Experience

Debra Shirley and her Team were acknowledged for their exceptional support of the student experience in their award, incorporating persuasive evidence in their application from multiple sources including USE surveys, student and peer review feedback, clinical educators and invitations to present their work.

FHS extends warm congratulations to all winners on achieving their awards, all of which represent significant and ongoing contributions to the Faculty.